Writing Music Is Hard

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by cult-leader-of-djent, Oct 19, 2013.

1. cult-leader-of-djent

cult-leader-of-djent SS.org Regular

Every time I try to compose a song, I get stopped dead in my tracks by one thing or another.

My main problem is that I can't piece together riffs.

Is there a way I could fix my problem?

2. DavidLopezJr

DavidLopezJr SS.org Regular

Analyze and breakdown songs that have good songwriting. Well developed song structure and usage of motifs is stuff I personally enjoy.

Also just write as much as you can, you will get better if you take the time to put the effort.

Solodini likes this.
  3. Lifestalker

Lifestalker SS.org Regular

I know them feels man.

I haven't had the chance to, but maybe adding a looper (possibly with drum beats/metronome) will help out a lot!

I'm in a transitional phase right now. I had been doing straight up brutal death for the past 8-9 years. I've been looking to tame my music down and do something along the lines of Radiohead, Ours, Muse, Tool, etc, etc. I just don't want to have any limits on what I write. Anything goes...

Also, I'm looking into purchasing a midi controller to help me compose ideas. Maybe this could be a consideration for you as well. I'm really excited because I've never had one and I'll finally be able to teach myself how to play piano (among many other things).

4. cult-leader-of-djent

cult-leader-of-djent SS.org Regular

I could see a looper working man those things are fun.

A drummer or another guitarist would help a lot as well, two heads are always better than one. :agreed:

5. CollinD

CollinD Member

If you don't already, I would highly suggest learning how to use guitar pro to write and keep track of your ideas. It helps!
    --