Would this setup work? (BIAS, monitors, audio interface...)

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Simic, Oct 7, 2016.

1. Simic

Simic SS.org Regular

Hey!
    I'm thinking of going the BIAS route instead of buying a practice amp (like the yamaha THR) for my study apartment. I'm totally new to this though and I'm looking for your suggestions on what to get.

From what I understand this is what I need to get started using BIAS:
    1) BIAS plugin
    2) DAW (such as reaper)
    3) Monitors
    4) Audio interface
    5) Guitar cables and a guitar :shred:

Is that it? If so, I'd appreciate some suggestions on which gear to get for each number above :)

1) I'm gonna use this for practice and maybe some recording. Do I get the bias fx or bias amp? Pro or standard version?
    2) I've heard Reaper is simple to use and free, is that the way to go?
    3) As far as monitors go, I'm willing to spend up to 400€ for a pair. I was looking at m-audio bx8d2 and yamaha hs7's (m-audio ones are 120€ cheaper, yamaha have better reviews...)
    4) For audio interface the focusrite scarlet looks like the way to go. Which version do I get? 2i4? I need to plug both speakers and the guitar into this interface right?
    5) Do I need any special cables? Instrument cables should be fine right?

Any help would be much appreciated!

2. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent

I don't have much as far as specific recommendations, but yes, that will work. You want an interface that does at least the one input, and two outputs. An older version of one of those scarlet interfaces used to have a problem where the input would clip if you used high-output pickups, but I think the newer versions have fixed that problem. Note that Reaper is not technically free, it's just a trial that never expires, so people use it as if it's free. It's great software though, so it's worth paying for it just to throw money at the devs and keep it going if you end up using it a lot. Your normal cables will work just fine.