WOES: trying out equipment

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by halsinden, Jun 3, 2008.

1. halsinden

halsinden it's a british thing

sorry if this is a common post, or sounds n00b-esque.

i've been offered a fantastic price on a top line amp, new. i can go to a major london retailers / suppliers to try out as and when i please. i've realised i'm steadily becoming shit scared of doing so.

i'm so very much not the kind of guitarist who blazes away, i can't sit down at a guitar and impress someone (not that you have to, when trying out) but it's even in some cases to the point that i don't generally like playing infront of people.

a dichotomy, sure, but i'm absolutely fine on a stage. i see myself as a purely functional guitarist, i don't play for the social element (ie. campfire tunes on an acoustic for singalongs), i can't play 'eruption' backwards, the way i am is that i approach guitar as i do my acting - i learn what i'm employed to perform, and i learn it well to fit the job at hand. when performing shakespeare, i wouldn't also learn chekov to warm up with.

it's paranoia, i know, but i can't be the only person who has this - does anyone else feel scrutinised by music retailer shop employees when you go to try equipment out?

bloody mental blocks.

H

2. astrocreep

astrocreep SS.org Regular

It's not just you.

In a band situation I'm fine nowadays, but sit me down in a guitar shop and my brain stops working, my hands shake and I just slam out mediocre power chords that are almost in time.

3. InTheRavensName

InTheRavensName Dog says yes ^.^ Yes

I'm exactly the same way dude. I can run out with ITRN, and knock out some pretty cool riffs and even the odd half decent solo (hell, I can even pull of sweeps occasionally when the adrenaline is going :nuts:) but as soon as I sit down in front of an amp in a shop, all I can pull off is a couple of palm muted triplets or some powerchords...no tapping, legato, anything

:realmad:

4. Toshiro