Will soundproofing foam work for keeping sound OUT

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by BaylorPRSer, Oct 12, 2019 at 9:04 AM.

1. BaylorPRSer

BaylorPRSer SS.org Regular

I am trying to keep sound out of my room (there’s a really loud rooster 3.5 meters below my window, street noise, etc)

Would covering my window with sound proofing foam with cones facing the window from the inside make a big difference?

I have zero experience with this stuff. I may use it the traditional way and turn my room into a recording setup if I have any luck with this.

Im looking at picking up some off this site (no amazon where I live)

https://www.lazada.vn/catalog/?q=Soundproof&from=input&spm=a2o4n.search.top.1

2. Rev2010

Rev2010 Contributor

Soundproofing works both ways, it's not unidirectional. It's going to take much more than just treating a window. Not familiar with the stuff you want to use and trying to view it goes to an app install page so I can't check it out. But you'll likely need to do that whole side of the room. Or just "transplant" the rooster lol.

Rev.

3. BaylorPRSer

Thank you.

FYI, it looked similar enough to this stuff https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07R9Z4R1H/?tag=sevenstringorg-20

4. Rev2010

Rev2010 Contributor

That seems like a cheap version of Auralex tiles. They do *not* soundproof, they merely dampen high frequencies so you don't get that bright echo/slapback in your room. You would need real soundproofing materials and they are typically quite expensive. Perhaps someone else that has more experience soundproofing a room in their home can chime in.

Rev.

5. Aewrik

Aewrik SS.org Regular

6. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

Just be careful with the materials you're looking to soundproof with. Many of the cheaper foams are incredibly flammable, as such I wouldn't use them in a residence.

7. TonyFlyingSquirrel

TonyFlyingSquirrel Cherokee Warrior