Which cables do i need for an FRFR?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Breeding The Spawn, Apr 30, 2021.

  1. Breeding The Spawn

    Breeding The Spawn SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Oceanside, California
    I am finally going the FRFR route with my Digitech GSP1101, AX8, and the FM3. I'm looking at getting the Laney LFR112. Don't have any knowledge of what exact cables to use and which input to use... I've always just hooked up my preamps to my amps power amp section. uk8ndmwttapxq5uuqdrb.jpg
     
  2. budda

    budda Do not criticize as this Contributor

    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    9,055
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    I'd go XLR but it'll take a regular 1/4" cable too.
     
    Breeding The Spawn likes this.
  3. spudmunkey

    spudmunkey SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    7,638
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    Near San Francisco
  4. Breeding The Spawn

    Breeding The Spawn SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Oceanside, California
    So I would use the Link Out on the FRFR if i were to use a 1/4 cable?
     
  5. Breeding The Spawn

    Breeding The Spawn SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Oceanside, California
    spudmunkey likes this.
  6. mastapimp

    mastapimp SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    Looks like you could plug these in to the left and right outputs of your units using XLR cables. I use two XLRs in my kemper/monitors setup. One XLR cable for each stereo channel.

    If you only have 1 speaker, look into operating in mono mode or simply pick left or right.

    The "link" is listed as an output in that scan of the manual. You probably need to put a signal into an input if you want to sound out of the Laney.
     
    Breeding The Spawn likes this.
  7. Breeding The Spawn

    Breeding The Spawn SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Oceanside, California
    Thanks for the help dudes, just ordered the Laney Cab. First time ever trying out an FRFR.
     
  8. Breeding The Spawn

    Breeding The Spawn SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Oceanside, California
    So I have the Laney cab, but can't seem to get any sound from my FM3 to the Laney, I got a 1/14" cable going into the input of the laney and i've tried the connections from the fm3 and none get any sound... I feel so dumb! haha.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. c7spheres

    c7spheres GuitArtist

    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    3,112
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    It Looks right. Is the volume up on the FM3?
    Have you tried turning it off and back on again? (IT Crowd joke : ) Seriously maybe the Combo jack didn't switch it it's relay controlled.
    Maybe try a different ouput from the FM3?
     
  10. Breeding The Spawn

    Breeding The Spawn SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Oceanside, California
    Volume on FM3 is up, Volume on Laney is up too, tried the other outputs on the FM3, still no sound. I tested the Aux with my phone to play music and that works. Turned fm3 on and off, same with the laney, no sound.
     
  11. c7spheres

    c7spheres GuitArtist

    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    3,112
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    Is the input to output blocks chain connected/linked in the FM3? I don't own one but pretty sure that needs to be connected.
     
  12. Breeding The Spawn

    Breeding The Spawn SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Oceanside, California
    So, something interesting.. I got it to work, except when I turned the volume up on the FM3, the speaker started to crackle and it cut out. I tapped the front grill and it's working.. :scratch:
     

Share This Page