Where to start... I'm a n00b with capable fingers.

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by ovlott, Mar 23, 2016.

1. ovlott

ovlott SS.org Regular

Alright, so I wasn't too sure how I should start this, and forgive me if there is a good thread that would suit my needs, but basically I've been playing guitar for around 5 or 6 years now, and I'm completely self-taught. However, I pretty much know jack squat about music theory, and am finally coming to terms with the fact that I should educate myself on theory to better my playing and writing.

I feel I have a lot of various picking techniques down (hybrid, alternate, tremolo, down-picking, raking, economy etc.), and I write and perform songs in my band currently, practice/record to a click, and have even composed a few solos, so it's not like the ability to play isn't there, but more so the understanding of what I am playing is missing. When people ask me about what I am doing, I have to resort to listing out the fret and finger positions, instead of saying "oh its this note" or "this chord".

I want to understand all that, and be able to apply it effectively. I have a good ear as well, and can often sound out chords or notes in a few seconds while listening, but again, I don't understand exactly what it is I'm playing aside from "it sounds like this".

Now this is where I REALLY don't know where to start, haha. So I figured I'd turn to you guys. If you guys can suggest where and what I should start learning/focusing on that'd help me tons! I'm totally lost and I just want to avoid things that I already have an understanding of (like the picking techniques noted above for example), and focus on what I really should be grasping if that makes sense. I'm fine if certain things overlap with each other as that I expect.