When using SD2/Metal foundry/EZdrummer DFH, how do you know it sounds good?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by WhiteLightOfDeath, Jul 9, 2019.

1. WhiteLightOfDeath

WhiteLightOfDeath Hidden Sword

I am a horrible drum programmer. I have to say. I’m not proud of it, and i cant seem to get a good tutorial on how to make metal drums on a DAW like Toontracks Ez drummer or SD2 which I use.

I usually take a groove, drag and drop it, and rinse and repeat....however, when i listen back it sounds like a drum machine on a looper. I am not good at knowing where to put fills or backbeats or stuff like that

I have been trying to listen to all kinds of rock and metal to see, but every band has a different approach to drums because they aren’t dragging and dropping, they are live and organic

So how did you learn to program drums on Toontrack products? OR BFD or whatever...and how did you finally learn what sounds good? Did you learn from someone or a tutorial? If so can you recommend?

2. Descent

Descent SS.org Regular

Try to play it like a drummer, at least in your head. Sometimes it pays off to punch in your own drum rolls, etc. into programmed track to add a layer of human performance.

WhiteLightOfDeath likes this.
  3. WhiteLightOfDeath

Ill try that .... thats a very obvious idea that I haven’t thought of, reading it out loud made sense though
    Thx

Descent likes this.
  4. MrWulf

MrWulf SS.org Regular

You can also humanize MIDI tracks. In Reaper it means you can tweak the velocity, timing and such to make it sounds less mechanical. Having a good drum mix with a sense of space also helps make it sounds more alive as well

5. WhiteLightOfDeath

Do you mean like in the actually midi track that is running it lets say EZ player (thru SD2)? Like change the velocity on each of the midi??

If thats what i understood that makes a lot of sense, great great idea man!! Thanks so much

6. MrWulf

MrWulf SS.org Regular