What's your go-to shredding-exercise?

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by Tobias Von Lanthen, Sep 8, 2021.

1. Tobias Von Lanthen

Tobias Von Lanthen SS.org Regular

Hi everyone!

To cut to the case - I've been playing for around 12 years now - mostly different metal genres, Djentier stuff, etc.

I've always been the riff-guy when it comes down to composing and playing and therefore never invested much into solo-related stuff. My shredding abilities are getting better after months of daily exercise - accurate and fast but I'm simply lacking the exercises / diversity in exercises.

So - what's your shredding-exercise? What helped you gain more speed and accuracy? Any recommendations? And, as a side question related to shredding: Did string gauge ever had a huge role in this for you? Heavier gauge for better playing "stability" or anything like that?

Thanks in advance!

2. Matt08642

Matt08642 SS.org Regular

The ultimate shredding exercise is the most boring one: Metronome at a slower speed until you can play it cleanly, then bumping up and up and up till you're at/above speed.

That and simply playing a lot more made it easier

Amer Alameddine likes this.
  3. bostjan

bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

The problem with striving to be a good "shredder" is that there is no magic bullet. You only get to that sort of level by practicing anything and everything that challenges you.

If you practice that one technique over and over, out of any musical context, you will get really good at that practice exercise, and nothing else. You have to integrate it with other techniques in different contexts before you even master the technique itself.

And then to be a "shredder," you have to rinse and repeat with at least a dozen techniques.

4. michael_bolton

michael_bolton SS.org Regular