What's the deal with power amps and how do they work?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by WhoThenNow7, Dec 7, 2014.

1. WhoThenNow7

WhoThenNow7 SS.org Regular

Alright, so I use a lot of amp modeling at home, and I use some monitors that I have hooked up to my computer to play through. It sounds good, but they aren't loud enough or convenient enough to play with other people, since they're just hooked into my computer in my room.

Basically, I've been doing a bit of research and have come across "power amps". I'm new to this, but I'm looking for amps that I can specifically use for amp modeling. I don't like the sound of my amp models through a "real" amp, because it still has the tonal qualities of said amp even on a complete clean channel. One thing I came across was an Atomic Reactor 112 tube amp.

Maybe it's as simple as just buying a big monitor, but I figured I'd get some info on here before jumping into anything, so if anyone can help, I'd appreciate it!

2. mnemonic

mnemonic Custom User Title

Before I get into it, let me break an amp down into its three main pieces. There is the Preamp, the Poweramp, and the Speaker Cabinet.

* The Preamp is where the EQ is located (bass/middle/treble/gain), where you get all/the majority of your distortion.

* The Poweramp is where you get the volume from. Rated in Watts. If you see someone say they have a 100 watt amp, this means the poweramp is rated at 100 watts.

* The Speaker Cabinet is pretty simple, its just a box with speakers in.

An amp head contains a preamp and poweramp. You need a separate cab. A combo amp has everything in one box. The way you are using your modeler, your computer/modeler is the preamp only. Most modelers (axe fx, pod, 11 rack, etc) are preamp-only.