UV7PWH Body cracked at trem stud....

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by MIL8, Jan 15, 2017.

1. MIL8

MIL8 SS.org Regular

Can this be fixed? Is this something any competent luthier should be able to fix or do I need to find someone who specializes in this kind of work? Any idea of cost? The body is pretty beat up but if it can be fixed I'd like to do it because the guitar is all original.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. odibrom

odibrom .

... perto de onde a terra acaba e o mar começa...
    Can you post a pic from trem point of view? I can't understand how far does this crack goes, does it interfere with the stud's stability?

I'd say that this kind of repair would involve some wood replacement and, therefore maybe a refinish of the guitar, but I'm no expert on this matter.

3. MIL8

MIL8 SS.org Regular

So a picture from the back of the guitar looking forward?

Yea the trem is rubbing against the pickguard. I forgot to mention that the other stud is loose but the body isn't cracked.

4. odibrom

odibrom .

Yep, that photo is also needed for a better opinion via web. I can't say much more than what I already said, only that that pic will help understand how big the crack is and, therefore, define a possible solution.

5. MIL8

MIL8 SS.org Regular

OK see if these help.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

6. cardinal

cardinal F# Dive Bomber

Almost anything can be fixed. I'd consider preemptively reenforcing the other side too. That whole section in front of the trem would be routed out and plugged with a harder wood like maple.

I'm not sure you'd want to just try to glue that crack back together. Probably too hard to clamp, and lots of force is on that stud. Someone could just drill and plug that one stud, if you wanted to minimize the routing.

7. TheTrooper

TheTrooper SS.org Regular

That looks like the 2 pieces of wood that made the body are separating, not cracking.