*URGENT HELP NEEDED* AMP

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by Fenrisulfr, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. Fenrisulfr

    Fenrisulfr SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    So basically I was doing a direct slave out on my mesa dual rec head into a DI box downstairs.. and my roommate was fiddling with the back of the amp seeing how the outputs were working and shit.

    Basically we got a small hum at first.. and not the sound we were looking for that was coming through the speakers.. I turned the volume up slowly.. and saw a white flash in the amp.. and it powered down completely.

    The fuse is blown.. and I'm about to go find one to try and replace it.

    I just want to know.. what do you guys think it is?

    You think the transformer is blown?

    or will that cause a problem?

    And if so.. how expensive is it to replace a fried transformer?

    I'm so pissed/confused/scared at the moment.

    I hope the head isn't fucked.
     
  2. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,627
    Likes Received:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    if the fuse blew, your probably cool because shit worked like it was supposed to. the fuse blew before damage could occur, or atleast you gotta hope thats what happened

    did he unplug your speakers? that will fuck up a tube amp if its on
     
  3. Fenrisulfr

    Fenrisulfr SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    No speakers were involved mate.

    We were doing direct out into a DI box for recording..

    Like I said.. I was turning up the output volume slowly and it was like a QUICK flash of white light and it powered off immediately.. no slow loss of sound or anything.. just pretty much INSTANT off.

    I checkd the fuse and it was burnt out.. I have no idea how to check if these actual tubes are okay and what not.. I'm SO stressed.

    No one? :[
     
  4. Pewtershmit

    Pewtershmit SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    vancouver (delta), BC
    so by "no speakers were involved", do you mean to say you had no cab hooked to the amp?:
     
  5. Fenrisulfr

    Fenrisulfr SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Correct. Amp's direct out.. to work as a preamp to a DI box.
     
  6. Pewtershmit

    Pewtershmit SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    vancouver (delta), BC
    the amplifier still needs a load even when going direct out.

    unless you have an attenuator set to give it a loud whilst giving no sound , you NEED your cab plugged in or your amp scrambles its brains.
     
  7. Paul Malmsteen

    Paul Malmsteen Yngwie Gilbert?

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    NSW (Australia)
    There's your problem, always need a load on the head.

    EDIT: Damn, beaten by a minute lol. But it is quite important, and you are lucky you only blew a fuse if you were running it with no speakers.
     
  8. MTech

    MTech Banned

    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    206
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    East Coast
    ^exactly why Mesa's are always toasted every time I go into GC.
     
  9. Variant

    Variant Banned

    Messages:
    6,442
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    All-white-tukee, Arizona
    THD hotplate + some good impulses = success. :agreed:
     
  10. Fenrisulfr

    Fenrisulfr SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I'm going to buy the correct fuse and try that.. hopefully that's all that happened.
     
  11. Æxitosus

    Æxitosus Banned

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    St. Louis, Misery
    I sometimes turn my amp on stand by without having it plugged in, will that mess with it?
     
  12. petereanima

    petereanima Br00tal Bubbly Mofo

    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    771
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Austria
    depends on the build quality of the amp, so no generalization - but you SHOULD be fine - mostly its ok as long as no output goes through.
     
  13. Æxitosus

    Æxitosus Banned

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    St. Louis, Misery
    its a peavey valve king. pretty cheap amp but its passable

    i wasn't plugged into it or anything, the head was just on the kitchen table and it was plugged in and on stand by

    it doesn't seem like anything happened to it, so i should be alright
     

Share This Page