two heads one cab

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by efiltsohg, Aug 11, 2019.

  1. efiltsohg

    efiltsohg SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    213
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Are there any risks with connecting one head, set to 16 Ohm, to the 16 Ohm input on my cabinet, and another one set to 4 Ohm to the 4 Ohm input, at the same time? I wouldn't be using both heads at the same time, just want to save the trouble of swapping the cable around. Does this affect the impedance of the cab at all?
     
  2. MaxOfMetal

    MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

    Messages:
    32,098
    Likes Received:
    13,161
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Racine, WI
    Depends on how the cab is wired. What model? Do you have pics of the jack plate?

    If it's a stereo cab you should be good to go.
     
  3. efiltsohg

    efiltsohg SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    213
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    it's a 1960A

    Looking at the manual online I notice it says never use both inputs at the same time in mono mode, but it doesn't specify if I can leave an unused amp connected to the other jack

    Stereo mode would only be using 2 speakers for each amp which isn't quite what I want
     
  4. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    Don’t do it. A 16 ohm load in parallel with a 4 ohm load is a 3.2 ohm total load.

    EDIT: I misread your question. Thought it was two cabs for the one head. Get a proper ABY box and you’re good to go
     
  5. MaxOfMetal

    MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

    Messages:
    32,098
    Likes Received:
    13,161
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Racine, WI
    My gut tells me it's a no-go, as you'd be putting the second amp in line with the circuit in the cab, which might cause impedance issues, even with the second amp powered off. You could check it with a multimeter though.

    I agree with @DudeManBrother, just grab a proper switcher and be done with it.
     
  6. efiltsohg

    efiltsohg SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    213
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    sounds good thanks guys
     
  7. Adieu

    Adieu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Location:
    Moscow
    You can use two HALVES of it, both set to 8 ohm, with two 8 ohm amps
     
    laxu, TheWarAgainstTime and budda like this.
  8. Walter W.

    Walter W. Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    I believe you can get pedals that will do this for you
     
  9. efiltsohg

    efiltsohg SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    213
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    thanks I literally already said that and it doesn't answer my question

    Basically, I have 2 heads that I use with the same cab, not at the same time, and want to avoid the risk of forgetting to swap my speaker cable and damaging an amp. But I still want to use 4 speakers
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.