Troubleshooting my Laney Ironheart Studio

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by neurosis, Jul 19, 2019.

1. neurosis

neurosis SS.org Regular

I have a problem with my Laney and want to see what you guys think.

I have had amps serviced before but always thought I should learn and try to do it myself eventually. I think that time has come. I have no experience fixing tube amps but have been reading on it and feel confident attempting a diagnosis with a little help and from what I've read and seen changing tubes, which I think is what I need in this situation won't be too hard.

The lead channel is working perfectly fine but the clean and Rhythm are not. Since the issue is focused on one channel only but everything else works perfectly fine it must be some tubes.

How would you test what tubes need to be changed? Is there any visual cue I could take or do I have to open up the head and get my multimeter in there?

Thanks a lot for any advice.

2. Descent

Descent SS.org Regular

What's the problem really? You don't describe the issue.

I think generally the 1st channel is the first preamp tube, but see if you can find a schematic on your amp and post it here. Depends on the design but you'd be tweaking preamp tubes afaik.

3. mnemonic

mnemonic Custom User Title

You can get a new 12ax7 and try swapping it into each slot to see if anything changes. It only has three preamp tubes so it shouldn’t take long.

You’ll need to open it to access the tubes. Don’t touch anything else in there when changing them, especially if the amp is on and plugged into the wall (high voltages). Most amps have bleeder resistors to drain the voltage off slowly after the amp is turned off, but I wouldn’t make any assumptions.