The iOS Amp Modeler App Thread!

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Chuck, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. weirdoku

    weirdoku SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Location:
    England
    Can any one give me some help with this noise in the background? I don't know how to describe it but it's there. I recorded a little clip to show you what I mean, it's more apparent inbetween the palm mute bits.

    [SC]https://soundcloud.com/weirdoku/sets/test[/SC]
     
  2. Ripper7620

    Ripper7620 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Vegas
    If it's clipping try turning the output level down on the app, that's what my problem was.
     
  3. weirdoku

    weirdoku SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Location:
    England
    Don't think it's clipping, the output level is at -8 and never hits the red.
     
  4. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    Listened to your clip and didn't hear what you were talking about. Can you do another one of just some palm mutes since you said that's when it happens? I didn't hear anything wrong with your clip at all.
     
  5. weirdoku

    weirdoku SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Location:
    England
    Okay, haven't recorded another clip but the noise I'm talking about that slight buzzing and whining noise when you take away the noise gates in a high gain sound. If you listen to the clip again inbetween the palm mutes you can hear them. It's definitely there.
     
  6. Zalbu

    Zalbu More time than skill

    Messages:
    1,700
    Likes Received:
    310
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    What pedals and stuff do you need to get a Modest Mouse-y lead tone, like the lick at 0:17 in Float On? I have Jamup and Bias.
     
  7. Electric Wizard

    Electric Wizard guy incognito

    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    332
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago
    ^Mess with the envelope filters (tron and mutron) in jamup.
     
  8. Ripper7620

    Ripper7620 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Vegas
    Has anyone found any cool sounding synth apps that you can play guitar through? Magellan is great & I'm looking for some others. I've got Arctic ProSynth, but it can't be used for guitar in the effects slot in AudioBus.
     
  9. Crimsonghost

    Crimsonghost SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle
    Afaik magellen is the only one that can be used in an effects slot. Get Moog's filtatron. It's kinda like a moogerfooger but makes a great standalone noisemaker also.

    Also any of the sugarbytes stuff (minus theysis) is great. There 100% full versions of there desktop counterparts with x/y pads for performance control.
     
  10. Ripper7620

    Ripper7620 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Vegas
    Yeah the Sugarbytes stuff is great, I have Wow FilterBox & Turnado, haven't tried filtron.
     
  11. Crimsonghost

    Crimsonghost SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle
    Your totally missing out if you don't have Filtatron. It does a great job of recreating Moog's classic ladder filter. As well as some other goodies.

    I've waited 3 years for this damn thing to get on the bus, but it's been worth it. And at $7(I think that's what it still costs) it's a damn steal!
     
  12. Ripper7620

    Ripper7620 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Vegas
    Thanks, I'm gonna check it out, I'm a total freak for filters!
     
  13. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    Grabbed it......this thing is unbelievable. Thanks for the heads up, man. :shred:
     
  14. FireInside

    FireInside .Buried.Breathing.

    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA (The Windy City)
    Anyone tried running Jamup through an Alto TS115a or 112 powered monitor? Looking to make a decent practice rig.

    If not what affordable powered monitors has anyone had good results with using Jamup?
     
  15. Ripper7620

    Ripper7620 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Vegas
    Picked up Filtron, my guitar immediately sounded cooler, nice. I'm kinda confused as to how to use the presets, when I engage one it acts like its in demo mode or something & mutes my guitar & I have to close & reopen the app to shut it down, probably should read the instructions.
     
  16. Ripper7620

    Ripper7620 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Vegas
    Fwiw, figured out how to use the Filtron presets, after you hit a preset go back to the main page, turn the sampler down & crank the level, nice app!
     
  17. Crimsonghost

    Crimsonghost SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle
    Yeah, there's 3 volumes. Input, sampler, and vco. Cool thing is you can mix them all. Personally I like using the vco and x/y pads in keyboard mode for basses. Sounds sick!
     
  18. I_CUM_BLOOD

    I_CUM_BLOOD SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    SG
    So as everyone knows the jamup tuner flickers a lot, It was getting on my nerves so I just paid for the istrobosoft tuner app. Accurate as hell using the cent. I got it and I think its better than my korg pedal tuner since it's more accurate. It's only available on ipad though, you could probably get polytune on iPhone.
     
  19. MatthewK

    MatthewK SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    iStrobosoft is available for iPhone. It's just not a universal app so if you want it on iPad and iPhone you'll have to buy it twice. It does work great though.
     
  20. Ripper7620

    Ripper7620 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Vegas
    If anyone's got Wow FilterBox, try running it in AudioBus at 128frames, really comes alive!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.