Suggest a neck profile for my stupid long fingers?

Dominoes282

Mixing Engineer
Reaction score
Hi guys.

I'm posting this here because there isn't a general guitar forum and I mainly play eight strings. Anyways,

I've been playing guitar for around 12 years now and still haven't found a neck profile that is comfortable. My fingers are ridiculously long so if the neck is too thin, then I feel like there's nothing to grab onto, but if it's too thick then it just feels awkward to play the higher strings. My favorite profile so far is on the Carvin neck, as it's right in between the thin and thick. I was thinking of switching to something like a strandberg profile. Would that be more comfortable you think? I'm in the US and I have no idea where to try one out. What do you guys think?

boxsmiley

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
this seems like a troll post. :lol:

ummm guys can you help me out? i'm just too muscle bound, rich, and good looking? it's suuuuch a burden.

if serious, I hope someone has good advice for you. my hands are pretty big and i wish they were bigger and fingers thinner for guitar purposes.

Steinmetzify

CHUG & SLUDGE
Reaction score
If it were me, I'd try a luthier and have him add some depth/shave some off of my favorite guitar, man. Make sure he does good work and keeps measurements for you, and that way you can compare online when next you go to buy a guitar, or have it handy when you want to custom order.

Dominoes282

Mixing Engineer
Reaction score
this seems like a troll post. :lol:

ummm guys can you help me out? i'm just too muscle bound, rich, and good looking? it's suuuuch a burden.

if serious, I hope someone has good advice for you. my hands are pretty big and i wish they were bigger and fingers thinner for guitar purposes.