Sticky/Grippy picks?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Bobo, Jul 2, 2019.

1. Bobo

Bobo SS.org Regular

I'm on the quest for better pick grip. Many of the picks I've tried have a very smooth surface, they sometimes slip out of my hand during hard playing. Some of the picks with built in grip (like textured surfaces) end up scraping against the strings.

I also like thin picks, and smaller picks. The size doesn't matter much though as I can cut them down. So anyone got suggestions for a decent grippy material? Or maybe pick hacks?

I may try a thumb pick at some point, have no idea how that'll feel.

2. Spinedriver

Spinedriver SS.org Regular

Personally, I've been using "Brain" picks for close to 10 years now. The 'texture' part is pretty much only where the thumb & finger should be, so scratching against the strings shouldn't be a problem.

3. Mathemagician

Mathemagician SS.org Regular

Anything with a “carbon fiber” style crosshatch pattern. Dunlop makes a decent one in black and another in a transparent red-ish material.

4. Smoked Porter

Smoked Porter SS.org Regular

Dava jazz grips?
    [​IMG]

lewis and Deadpool_25 like this.
  5. Bearitone

Bearitone SS.org Regular

The yellow ultex picks from Dunlop are very grippy imo

6. jaxadam

jaxadam SS.org Regular

I’ve taken a knife in the past and just scored some crisscrossed lines in them and that’s done the trick.

7. Ordacleaphobia

Ordacleaphobia Shameless Contrarian

Yeah like Jax said, I played the Clayton acetals for years and would just cut a three line cross pattern into them with an xacto knife and that helped a lot.
    But- if you want something right out of the box, check out the Fountainhead signature picks from Winspear. They're exactly what you're asking for and I don't think I'll ever go back.

Plus, Tom posts on the forums here, so you get the added bonus of supporting a board member ;)

8. KnightBrolaire

KnightBrolaire Build the Wall of Sound™