Spector Legend 5 Classic? Worth buying used?

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by Hexer, Nov 28, 2019.

1. Hexer

Hexer Contributor

Hey guys! Long time no see and now I started playing bass :agreed:

Anyways, so far I have a cheap Harley Benton 5-String that I got used for 90€ including gigbag just so I had a 5-string to practice on. Fine so far but I'm looking around to see what the next bass will be.

I'm looking for a 5-String, can be 35" if useful (on 7-String guitar I like 26.5" for standard tuning), schould be able to sound good for metal meaning it needs tight, defined, agressive tone with attack all the way down to the low B!
    Technique-wise I play with low action, using fingers and bouncing the strings off the frets for a nice, aggressive, "attacky" sound (kind of Steve Harris style, but for more extreme music) and like some distortion on the sound (so far, I mix clean sound from my POD X3 Live with distortion from a bass-preamp).

Soooooo I'm looking at an offer from a music store for a used Spector Legend Classic 5.
    All maple (body and neck), quilted maple top, designed specifically for Spector passive EMGs (more mids than standard HZs as far as I know) with active preamp for +/-12db bass and treble, bolt on,.... Problem is: I have almost no experience with different basses and have never laid hands on a Spector. Legend Classic seems to be the top line of their Korean production. Price is a bit under what a brand new Legend 5 Standard would cost here (Germany).
    Unfortunately I cant really go there and test it out before buying, I think I should be able to send it back though IF I order and then see I don't like it at all for some reason.
    I mailed them for more detailed info on age and condition and waiting for the answer.

So.... what can you tell me about the Legend 5 Classic or the better Korean Spectors in general? Do they fit what I want? Are they worth their prices? Would you buy or rather look at something else?