Signal Chain Question

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by TheDisease999, Mar 28, 2013.

1. TheDisease999

TheDisease999 Drop G for ME

Hi,

I am still pretty new with rack gear, pedals, etc so I do not understand fully how placing what, in what order, effects what it does. Basically I have my guitar into a Decimator pedal, into my head.

I am getting a new head with an fx loop (which I've never had) and am curious if this would effect the order I run it all in. I also got a sonic max, 1 channel, and am curious where in the chain I should put this too.

Sorry if this is a shitty question, I tried looking to find the answer but couldn't.

I am a n00b absolutely.

Thanks! :hbang:

2. vick1000

vick1000 SS.org Regular

Sonic Maximizer goes in the loop. The Decimator can go in front or in the loop, but you need a gate in front, so only in the loop if you have another gate for the front.

Most people chain like this...

Guitar>Noise Gate>Compressor>OD/Dist>EQ/Modulation>Volume/Wah>Amp>(FX send)>Noise Gate/Suppression>EQ/Modulation>Delays and Reverbs>(FX return)

Modulation covers a host of FX, such as Phasers, loopers, Chorus, etc...Basically anything but Delays and Reverb. Sonic Maximizer is considered Modualtion/EQ, EQs work best in the loop.

3. EOT

EOT I pull over 500 lbs.

There are no real rules on what goes where. Some things do work better in the loop vs in front of the amp like delays and reverbs. But that doesn't mean they don't work in front. The maximizer will have more effect in the loop. But you might like it in front better.

When I had a maximizer I ended up running guitar>gate>maximizer>MK.4.23(to boost the maximizer)> amp. I liked it quite a bit that way. You might not. Experiment and see what works best for you.

4. Sephael

Sephael Divine Paradøx Contributor