Seven String pickup replacement

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by TheSeventhString, Mar 21, 2017.

1. TheSeventhString

TheSeventhString SS.org Regular

Hey there everyone,
    I am currently new to playing a seven string, but not new to playing guitar.
    To get into playing a seven string guitar i wanted to start affordable, just in case i did not like it. My guitar is a Jackson JS22-7. This model is a gloss black with what appears to be direct mounted pickups. However its a direct mount(i believe) that looks similar to a 7 string Active pickup(mine are not active), like an EMG 81-7 or a EMG 707. Basically a pickup that fills up the entire pickup hole in the guitar body. This is the first guitar I've ever owned with these style pickups. A lot of manufacturers do not carry many, if any, passive pickups in this style. Can i change these pickups to a standard set and install a pickup ring? or is the dimensions of the guitar body different?
    if i have to go back with this style of pickup due to the body, do any of you have a recommendation as to where i could get some passive pickups in that style? or what pickup would you recommend.
    Sorry for the length, I wanted to try and be specific as possible. Correct me if i am wrong about anything. I would appreciate any help you can give me.
    BTW I play rock,metal,djenty stuff. Not really a person for jazz. So whatever pickups fit that style.
    Thanks!

Link to a guitar exactly like mine:
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/jackson-js-22-7-dka-electric-guitar

mod edit: keep it to one thread per topic please

Hey there everyone,
    I am currently new to playing a seven string, but not new to playing guitar.