Sensible Progression/Curriculum for guitar mastery?

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by Max_H, Aug 1, 2015.

1. Max_H

Max_H New Member

Hi there folks, first time poster here and i sincerely hope that this question hasn't been asked to death. This isn't so much a question regarding musical theory resources or "What should I practice?", but rather more of a periodization question much like a progression for weight lifting.

So some background: I've been playing off and on for 7 years and just recently got back into it in a big way. I have basic knowledge of the scale patterns and the common chord shapes but I want to fully master the instrument from fretboard mastery to musical theory mastery and how it applies to the guitar.

There are countless youtube videos and online resources with drills and exercises to do that all the information is sort of overwhelming. I'm looking for a sort of curriculum that I could follow on a daily basis to work on finger technique, scales, chords, ear training, sheet music sight reading, songwriting, and general music theory. I completely understand that it will take my whole life (or more, practicing in valhalla anyone? :shred: ) to fully master all of the points i've brought up. What I've been trying to do is set up my own program outlining work for each of the categories but find myself overwhelmed with where to start.

Any links to a program I could follow would be greatly appreciated. Like an online school with homework and drills to complete, something of that sort. I hope I'm not being to vague and that I've portrayed my request in a reasonable manner.

inb4 just start doing it <- seriously not helpful hahaha

p.s. i have steve vai's 30 hour guitar workout but the fact that i work 12 hours a day makes that sort of impossible to follow in the manner he set up.

Thanks ahead for any help as I've found myself plateauing with my progress.

Rock on guys

2. Solodini

Solodini MORE RESTS!