Rig Advice Needed

Discoqueen

Dang tootin
Reaction score
Hey everyone.

So I’m a very new bassist. I took lessons when I was a kid and some of the techniques have stuck with me, and I’m switching over from electric guitar, so at least I know my way around the fretboard, but as with any instrument, there is a certain amount of time that needs to pass for proficiency to develop.

Anyways, my friend wants me to replace the bassist in his band already, so lol, been practicing every day and trying to study what makes a good bass line and all that. It’s a lot of fun. Really invigorating. I want to be in the band in question really bad. They play like old school rock and grunge kinda stuff.

So, the crux of the situation, I need a rig. I have no clue what I am doing, though, as far as what I would need. I have no familiarity with most bass amp brands, though I do like orange for electric guitar amps. I don’t really know what kind of tone I am after. I’ve always been bad with gear. I am a plug and play kinda person, for sure. I like minimal, if any, pedals at all. I’d go into a store and try stuff out, but I am again, clueless what I want to ask for and have had bad experiences in stores before so, honestly, I try to buy used or online, so I thought I’d pick everyone’s brain.

Wattage? Should I go combo or head and cab? Anything I should be aware of as far as differences in how bass amps work from electric guitar amps? What kind of pedals, besides the tuner lol, are essential? I know they’d want me to have a fuzz pedal. Budget,l: hopefully under $800.

I know this is a very broad question, so thanks for reading through. Also I appreciate any advice you could give.

Thabks :)

Adieu

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Just buy an old Carvin Hartke or Peavey 1x15 combo or a head and 4x10 cab

Sure $2k rigs might be a bit better, but $150-300 will get you pretty close