rg8 modding questions

Discussion in 'Extended Range Guitars' started by Benadon, Jul 23, 2018.

  1. Benadon

    Benadon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    got an rg8
    i like the neck and stuff, aaaaand... i got fishman abasi's in it.
    so i wondered how bad does the tuners bridge and nut effect the playebility of the guitar?
    i am just starting to try more string gauges and idk, i always want to improve on my hardware.
    so i thought to swap to hipshot tuners and bridge and swap a nut into a brass one, it will end up like about 280$ improvment.
    and you dont do half a job i guess?..
    i could use some tips and suggestion over the hardware choices and the choice in general.
     
  2. cardinal

    cardinal F# Dive Bomber

    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    3,188
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Unless they are giving you a specific problem, upgrading tuners and the bridge would be far down my list.

    A new nut can vastly improving tuning stability (getting the slots the width and taper) and playability (getting the height right).

    Personally, I’d spend that money to get a pro to level all the frets and cut a new nut. If the guy is good, your RG8 will play as well as any custom guitar possibly could.
     
    odibrom, MaxAidingAres and Zhysick like this.
  3. M3CHK1LLA

    M3CHK1LLA angel sword guardian

    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    orbiting caprica
    ThePhilosopher likes this.
  4. Benadon

    Benadon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    I find my instrument to tune suprisingly well and the frets feel fine i think, i am not really sure how are they supposed to feel. I just polished em using steel wool, lemon oiled and stuff and waiting for a9-80 set of strings to come any minute ( used to use10-74 and it wasnt so great, probebly better for multiscale)
     
  5. lurè

    lurè Fake Shredder

    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Location:
    Italy
    I think you can contact Graphtec for a new pre-slotted nut, so you don't have to file it down.
     
  6. Benadon

    Benadon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    i have seen some spacificly made brass nuts for rg8, seems to be made from guys named GuitarTechs
     
  7. MaxAidingAres

    MaxAidingAres SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Location:
    Reseda, CA
    Yeah honestly upgrading hardware, unless it is faulty, is pretty much pointless. The hardware that Ibanez uses is more than good enough. Just isn’t high grade material, or the most ergonomic design/feel.

    I agree with cardinal, new nut, and fretwork. If you are anal, locking tuners but let’s be honest here locking tuners are practical but not necessary.
     
  8. Benadon

    Benadon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    i wait for my new strings to come by, see how i like the frets now that they are nice and tidy including the fretboard.
    how much will a new nut will improve my guitar? and which meterial? i have seen a brass one made for rg8 specific on ebay for 13$ but then about 13 more for shipping (middle east, and i wont find any nuts here anyway)
     
  9. MaxAidingAres

    MaxAidingAres SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Location:
    Reseda, CA
    But material is subjective. People are going to standby whatever they are used to using or what works for them. With that said bone, graphite, brass are all useable.
     
  10. Benadon

    Benadon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    so no specifics, yet i cant understand what changing it metters at all.
     
  11. Benadon

    Benadon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Alright guys one improtant question:
    can i make my guitar with the fishman (3 voices) fluences abasi's to a 3 way switch with a toggle instead of volume that uses voice 3
    and volume knob instead of tone that changes from voice 1 to 2 with push pull?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.