Replacing footswitch in pedal for external switching?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by HeHasTheJazzHands, May 29, 2020.

  1. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    26,571
    Likes Received:
    9,810
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Kinda curious if this is possible. Been thinking about buying a AMT LA2 pedal (P2, R2, etc. The 2 channel ones with the clean channel) and replacing the on-board footswitch with a jack, to let me switch via outboard relay switching via my Engl Z11.

    Has anyone tried this? Would it even work?
     
  2. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    26,571
    Likes Received:
    9,810
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Bump. I think I worded the title weird.

    Want to replace your standard latching footswitch (IE: AMT P2, etc) with a mono jack and use an external relay switcher (Standard channel switching footswitch or something more elaborate like a RJM Mini Gizmo or in my case an Engl Z11) to do the switching.
     
    c7spheres likes this.
  3. Emperoff

    Emperoff Hasta la vista, Baby Contributor

    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    937
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    Spain
    I haven't tried it with those particular pedals, but I recall someone doing it will a Koch Pedaltone so it's possible I guess.

    BTW, the AMT SS-20 has remote switching so maybe you should try that one instead?
     
  4. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    26,571
    Likes Received:
    9,810
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I don't think it does. It's some proprietary switching meant to be used with their own pedals. If it's anything like the SS30, I asked them what the little 3.5mm jack was for and they said it didn't work as a foot switch replacement.
     
  5. Emperoff

    Emperoff Hasta la vista, Baby Contributor

    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    937
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    Spain
    Weird. I never used it but I know some people that did. Maybe the SS-20 does? What the hell is that TRS out for if not anyways. :scratch:
     
  6. GoldDragon

    GoldDragon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Location:
    Delaware
    Need to know if switch on pedal is momentary or latching. If its compatible with relay on your amp, it would work.

    You already have the Z11, why don't you just put the pedal in one of its loops?
     
    Shask likes this.
  7. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    26,571
    Likes Received:
    9,810
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    What TRS are we taking about?

    It's latching. Also I still want to use the clean channel of the pre amp. I'm running it as it with another amp in stereo
     
  8. GoldDragon

    GoldDragon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Location:
    Delaware
    Put the pedal in one loop, put the amps preamp in another loop. Then you can use one or both.

    What am I missing?
     
  9. diagrammatiks

    diagrammatiks SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    3,449
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    china
    yes. how hard will it be to do will depend on how the switch is wired in the pedal.
     
  10. Emperoff

    Emperoff Hasta la vista, Baby Contributor

    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    937
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    Spain
    Left:

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Shask

    Shask SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    1,453
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Yep, once you know if it is latching or momentary, you should be able to wire another switch across it.
     
  12. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    26,571
    Likes Received:
    9,810
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Yeah I think that's AMTs proprietary swircher meant to work with their own MIDI switcher. If it's anything like the SS30

    Iirc AMT foot switches are latching. It's been awhile since I owned one but I remember it being a foorswitch with a firm click.
     
    devastone likes this.
  13. devastone

    devastone SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    157
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    Yes, they are latching. I also think (about 90% sure) that the signal goes through the switch, so you'll want to use a short run of shielded cable to your remote switch.
     
  14. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    26,571
    Likes Received:
    9,810
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    This is all being held in a rack so yeah, it'll be short
     
  15. c7spheres

    c7spheres GuitArtist

    Messages:
    2,605
    Likes Received:
    2,230
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    THis is a great idea. I'll keep watching to see what comes of it.
     
  16. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    26,571
    Likes Received:
    9,810
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Waiting for an S2 to pop up. I heard that its basically a tighter, brighter sounding P2. That or an E2
     
    c7spheres likes this.

Share This Page