Recommend me a camera for $400-$500?

Discussion in 'Art, Media & Photography' started by Brill, Jan 21, 2013.

1. Brill

Brill sweet little lolita.

Pretty self explanitory. Im not the most experince at photography. But im looking to get more into it.

2. MetalBuddah

MetalBuddah 0000 00 0 0 00 000

DSLR or point and shoot?

If DSLR, try taking a look at the Canon Rebel series or the Nikon D3100 (or D5100 if you are willing to spend ~ $100 more).

I recently got the D3100 and I am loving it so far. Very user-friendly and it has great features for the price. In my hands, it felt more sturdy than the equivalent Canon. I am not a pro photographer by any means but I am able to get some very nice shots out of it. The D3100 is roughly....$479. I got the $100 50mm lense with it as well and it is a hell of a lens for the price.

Happy hunting!

3. mike90t09

mike90t09 SS.org Regular

The Sony Alpha series is also a great line of DSLRs. I have the alpha 33 my self and picked it up for around $500. It's a damn great camera for the price, nice and simple.

4. Hollowway

Hollowway Extended Ranger

You can typically pick up a Canon T3 with kit lens (and memory card, etc.) from Costco for $449. Online, too, but Costco customer service rules all.

5. Furtive Glance

Furtive Glance "Snaaaake!!!"

My vote goes to Canon (T3/T3i). Stupidly good cameras for the money.

6. Phreeck

Phreeck SS.org Regular

At this level there not much difference between the Canon and the Nikon.

I would really recommend going to a store and holding both to see which one you prefer, it's good to choose the correct brand for you early on because swapping later, when you have invested in lenses, will be a more difficult.

7. Khoi

Khoi SS.org Regular

T2i was fantastic when I was starting out. For the money, you can't really go wrong.

8. Bevo

Bevo SS.org Regular

I just picked up a mint condition Nikon D40 and am using it with a 18-105 lens, its an amazing little camera that I paid $150 for..body only.