Question about biasing tube amp

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by mnemonic, Apr 26, 2018.

1. mnemonic

mnemonic Custom User Title

Hey guys, pretty noob question about biasing tube amps, I’ve never done this before, I figure I should make sure I’m understanding this right.

So I bought a little bias probe off eBay that plugs into my multimeter. I tested it with my multimeter and it interrupts pin 3, so when it’s plugged into my multimeter it inserts my multimeter in series with pin 3 (plate).

So if I understand this right I just set my multimeter to millivolts and boom, there’s my plate current draw, right? I could then just flip to voltage on my multimeter and measure plate voltage right?

I tested it earlier and after letting the amp warm up a bit (it’s a Jet City JCA50h), it read -5mV (!).

I turned up the bias control to bring it up to around 25mv which added a lot of volume, made it squishier feeling and also removed a lot of high end and fizz. I admit I didn’t like it as much, it lost some of that sharp attack that I like (and I guess I’ve gotten used to over the last few weeks). I compromised by turning it to 10ma, and just turning up Treble and Presence to compensate.

My question is... does the above assumption about measuring current on pin 3 sound right? Do 6L6’s even work at 5mA or was I doing something horribly wrong?

Given my preference for tight articulate modern metal tones, I knew I wasn’t going to be running them anywhere near 70% plate dissipation but 5mA to 10mA sounds laughably low.

The plate voltage is around 500v I think, I forgot to write it down.

2. Jacksonluvr636

Jacksonluvr636 SS.org Regular

I would consult an amp doctor.

JK, buy one of the eurotubes probes that reads both plate voltage and Ma. Their website also explains how to do the math. It is not very difficult really but as you probably know can be very dangerous if you are just tinkering around in there.

3. Shask

Shask SS.org Regular