POD HD500X with Headrush FRFR?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Dawn of the Shred, Mar 20, 2019.

  1. Dawn of the Shred

    Dawn of the Shred Scoop the Mids and Chug

    Messages:
    6,475
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Can I use a POD HD500X with the Headrush FRFR 1x12? And if so what all do I need for that setup?

    Thanks for any help
     
    Humbuck likes this.
  2. lewis

    lewis SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    6,490
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Yes you can. Its what they are made for (modellers) i own 2 headrush's monitors.

    Its as simple as XLR out of POD into XLR in on the headrush.

    Job done
     
    Dawn of the Shred likes this.
  3. LiveOVErdrive

    LiveOVErdrive CNC hack

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Just make sure to set the pod for frfr output. It adjusts its output eq depending on what you plug it into.
     
    lewis and Dawn of the Shred like this.
  4. Dawn of the Shred

    Dawn of the Shred Scoop the Mids and Chug

    Messages:
    6,475
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I thought I just need regular guitar cables... or do I need XLR Cables?
     
  5. Xaios

    Xaios Foolish Mortal Contributor

    Messages:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Nimbus III
    You can 1/4" cables, the Headrush unit (at least the 112) has a Neutrik-style combo jack. The balanced XLR outputs on the HD500X will provide a louder, cleaner signal. However, it won't really matter much if you're running relatively short cable runs.

    Balanced audio is accomplished by running two wires (both the non-ground wires in the XLR cable, in this case) carrying the same audio signal, one normal, and one in reverse polarity. Both wires experience the same interference over the course of their run, so what the receiving amplifier does is subtract the signal of the reverse-polarity wire from that with normal polarity. Because the noise is the same polarity on each wire, it gets cancelled out, while subtracting the negative polarity signal (remember, subtraction of a negative) effectively boosts the actual audio signal.
     
    Dawn of the Shred likes this.
  6. Dawn of the Shred

    Dawn of the Shred Scoop the Mids and Chug

    Messages:
    6,475
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    Parts Unknown


    Yeah I won’t be using long cables as it’s just for home use. Thank you very much for the info.

    So is it basically plug and play or will I have to set the HD500X a certain way for the Headrush frfr?
     
  7. LiveOVErdrive

    LiveOVErdrive CNC hack

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Basically all you'll have to do is change the "output mode" setting.

    https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/articles/line-6-pod-hd500x-tips-inputs-and-outputs/

    I think you want the "studio direct" option with an FRFR.
     
  8. Dawn of the Shred

    Dawn of the Shred Scoop the Mids and Chug

    Messages:
    6,475
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
  9. Xaios

    Xaios Foolish Mortal Contributor

    Messages:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Nimbus III
    No problem. :yesway:

    Pretty much this.

    One other option you might want to look at is using an IR loader pedal or some other cab simulator in between the Pod and the FRFR. While I have no personal experience with the HD500X, the biggest point of contention I've always heard about them is that their cab simulations are their Achilles heel. It'd be a shame to spend the money on the FRFR only to not get a sound that you find agreeable. I guess you could always try doing it with the HD500X cab sims, while knowing that there's a backup option if you're having trouble getting it to sound the way you want.
     
  10. GunpointMetal

    GunpointMetal SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    1,356
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    As a former HD500X owner, the cabs are absolutely the biggest issues with the direct tones. You're going to want to put an EQ after your cab model LPF a bunch of high end for FRFR use. There are good sounds in there, they're just not RIGHT there when you're dialing stuff in. I'd second an IR loader to make it sing a little more. My main issues with the HD500X wasn't necessarily the cab models, though. It was the EQs having fucking percentages instead of frequency numbers...
     
  11. Xaios

    Xaios Foolish Mortal Contributor

    Messages:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Nimbus III
    Yuck! :ugh: :barf:
     
  12. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    25,895
    Likes Received:
    8,902
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Also to make it even funnier is that with all the "Legacy" FX in the Helix (the HD-series effects that got ported to the Helix), everything still uses percentages. :lol:

    Luckily the EQs didn't need to be ported, and the Helix EQs actually show the frequencies.
     
    GunpointMetal likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.