Pod HD: still can't get palm mutes to sound "right"

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Rizzo, Jul 18, 2018.

  1. Rizzo

    Rizzo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    Not posting in the Pod HD thread since it's been basically abandoned.

    So, it seems that after all these years of owning a Pod HD500, I can't get high gain tones to sound fully right in any possible way. The general tone is ok, but on single note stuff and especially on any kind of palm muted stuff (may it be chords or single notes) the actual "tone" suddenly disappears and I'm left with a clean-ish signal that's basically just an hollow "woof" of low mids plus noise, missing any body to it.

    I'm used to use the least amount of gain as possible but I tested and this seemingly happens at any level of gain, both with guitar-same and guitar-variax, and even with both OD and compression engaged pre-amp. I usually use the FBall sim. I just don't know what to do, any advice?
     
  2. Sogradde

    Sogradde SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    973
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    I can't comment on your specific problem as I would need a sound file to hear what's happening but in general I can give you the advice to either: Skip the internal cab sim and go straight into the FX return of a proper amp so you have some actual air moving, or if you're full digital: Get an IR loader (Torpedo CAB, Mooer Radar, etc.) and use that instead of the internal cabinets. Both options will improve the Pod drastically.

    What do you use to monitor your playing?
     
  3. Rizzo

    Rizzo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    Recovered 3 clips of me noodling around yesterday on Reaper while testing for the issue. Some muting on riffs and galloping involved. Sorry for the horrible playing, I'm trying to get back to the instrument. Notice how muted notes are woofy and seem not to saturate at all in comparison to the rest of the playing unless I pick extremely hard. Tell me what you think.

    http://picosong.com/wfuMq
    http://picosong.com/wfuMf
    http://picosong.com/wfuMu

    Both suggested options are not viable since 1. I don't have anything analog anymore lying around, gone full digital and 2. I don't have the budget for an IR loader an neither would be interested (I'd rather save up for a wholly better modeler in case).
    I'm playing through an FRFR and I'm sure I get the same exact sound both while monitoring via hardware and in the recording.
     
  4. Dineley

    Dineley SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Location:
    GTA Ontario Canada

    I think you can ad IR in reaper with a free loader and use a free IR just need too turn off cab sims.

    I could be wrong though
     
  5. Rizzo

    Rizzo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    I know but I'd like to solve the problem disregarding external IR since the Pod is my only resource for live playing as well
     
  6. Dayn

    Dayn silly person

    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    628
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Could always be something basic. Maybe something's off in the chain you set up. What's your tone? Can you post a pic of POD HD Edit showing your effects and settings? I use the Fireball setup for one of my tones too, with a tubescreamer.
     
  7. Rizzo

    Rizzo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    Sure, this is the tone. Taking the screens reminded me I forgot to test the amp's master volume parameter. Been away from the Pod for a while. I usually used to keep it low to keep the mids airy and the overall gain compression low.

    I added the compressor just yesterday, it helps a bit. The screamer is off just for a different flavor.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Ben Pinkus

    Ben Pinkus SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    274
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    London
    In my main rhythm patch I've been gigging with on my HD500 for the last few years, I've been using Dual amps, with a lot of extra EQ's added - and this made a huge difference.

    Although I do use mine through a Tube amp with cab sims off.

    I'd also suggest looking at the PODHD community on Line 6, as you can download user uploaded tones still (I believe, unless they've taken it down since Helix) and see if any of these are better than your current settings.
     
  9. cwhitey2

    cwhitey2 BlackendCrust Metalâ„¢

    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Location:
    Binghamton, NY
    I hated the stock IR's in the 500 and NEVER used them if I didn't have to.

    You should really look into getting external IR loader.


    Also, the double amp suggestion is a great idea as well...really thickens up the tone.
     
  10. Demiurge

    Demiurge Intrepid Jackass

    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    I see bass being cut on the Drive & Screamer, bass cut on the Amp, and a HP applied. It's important to tame those low frequencies, but maybe the problem is that too much has been taken out?
     
    GunpointMetal likes this.
  11. Rizzo

    Rizzo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    More bass just made it sound muddy. Mind I'm playing this through my all-mahogany Schecter. Also I don't think bass frequencies have anything to do with the problem...now that I think about it I should really try separating between a rhythm and a lead preset (an approach I always hated on all my modelers) and drive that amp master back up. But keep the suggestions coming.
     
  12. Metropolis

    Metropolis SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    How are your input and output set inside the unit and how the little swithces between master volume pot and expression pedal are?
     
  13. Rizzo

    Rizzo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    Input: guitar-same (also tried guitar-variax)
    Output: direct
    Switches: out line, guitar pad
     
  14. GunpointMetal

    GunpointMetal SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes Received:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Turn down the Early Reflections to around 10-15%, turn down the sag to around 25%, turn up the master, then bring in some more the bass in the amp.
    I owned the HD500X for years, and the weakest part of the chain is the cab modeling. Adding an IR loader would be the fastest way to get better tones, or start saving up for a Helix LT, and even then, add in IRs.
     
    Rizzo likes this.
  15. gujukal

    gujukal SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sweden
    Sounds to me like you need way more gain to get that really fat palm mute sound. The ENGL f-ball amp doesn't have much lows like the Rektifier so try some more bass as well. The boost you got disabled wouldn't hurt to be enabled either.
     
  16. Shask

    Shask SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    1,747
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I used to always stick a Vetta Juice Compressor in front of everything in my presets when I had a HD500 years ago. Many Line 6 products have this thing where it is like they are "too dynamic" and high gain never sounds right unless you really attack the strings hard. Using the Vetta Juice helped even it out some where I didn't have to kill the strings, but also didn't sound like I was using a compressor.

    I have an Axe-FX II now, but there are 2 controls in the amp block that sort of do the same thing in the Axe-FX II.
     
    Rizzo likes this.
  17. GunpointMetal

    GunpointMetal SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes Received:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Turn off the PAD on the input.
     
  18. mnemonic

    mnemonic Custom User Title

    Messages:
    5,568
    Likes Received:
    2,153
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Do you have a real life tubescreamer or other boost? I always liked a real boost in front of my podxt back in the day, and I still use a real boost from time to time with my axe fx II.
     
    Carl Kolchak likes this.
  19. Rizzo

    Rizzo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    Sadly nothing else than the Pod is lying around the house anymore. But a friend recommended that solution too.
     
  20. bnzboy

    bnzboy Asian Dying

    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Location:
    London, ON
    I would say get rid of your POD HD and get something else. I could never get tones I liked with POD.
     

Share This Page