Pickup swaps, the joke is on me! (long)

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by GoldDragon, May 29, 2020.

1. GoldDragon

GoldDragon SS.org Regular

I have been swapping pickups for years.

The first pickup upgrade was a SD original "Trembucker" (the one with the double poles). I remember at the time it was hotter than the pickups that came in the Charvel, created more distortion, and I liked it better. That was back when amps didn't come with much distortion and you had to use a boost or a distortion pedal.

Of course Metallica was big at the time, and they used EMGs, so that was my next upgrade. I honed my soldering skills wiring the EMGs into a number of guitars. They created even more distortion and were easier to play. I had been playing for about three years, and I remember I had a hard time playing guitars that didn't have EMGs. I used EMGs up until about the 5 year mark.

Around this time, amps were coming with more distortion, and I realized that you didn't need blazing hot pickups to get metal and lead guitar sounds. So I entered into a long "tone phase", where I was choosing pickups based on EQ and "feel".

Over the next 15 years, I probably tried 40 different humbuckers. A handful of SDs, but mostly Dimarzios. I think I tried almost the entire Dimarzio catalog. Why Dimarzio? Because they were $10 cheaper than Seymours and most of my guitar heroes were Dimarzio endorsers.

After a time I gravitated to the Norton and Fred pickups. They were more "toneful" and had a "bigger" sound. (as medium output pickups with lots of presence do.) I thought the Norton was my holy grail sound. Then I thought the Fred was.