Pickup picking up metronome click in DAW????

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by 777, Nov 22, 2020.

  1. 777

    777 SS.Org's Irish Guy

    Messages:
    2,137
    Likes Received:
    357
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    I recorded a track and noticed a feint metronome click was recorded from the DAW - Im using headphones.

    I tried shouting into the pickup with my lips right against the strings and that was slightly picked up too.

    Is this my interface picking up interference, or are my pickups microphonic???

    It only seems to happen when using virtual amps? not with the DI
     
  2. shnizzle

    shnizzle johnny

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    152
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    hm, that´s weird. if you use headphones also for recording, i doubt it´s the pickups, since any bleeding sound from headphones is super quiet. could be the output of the interface is bleeding a bit into the input. things like that can happen. for example my inputs 1 and 2 can bleed into each other. it´s very faint, but it happens.

    the reason you hear it with amp sims and not the di is because lots of distortion also raises any very low level noise and sounds so the faint click will get louder.
     
  3. 777

    777 SS.Org's Irish Guy

    Messages:
    2,137
    Likes Received:
    357
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    T
    Thanks for the great explanation! Is there any way to remedy this?

    It wont be a problem once I get back home and have my AxeFX back - just using amp sims temporarily :)
     
  4. nickgray

    nickgray SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    467
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    It's probably a routing issue. Double check the routing software (if you have it) for your sound card.
     
  5. 777

    777 SS.Org's Irish Guy

    Messages:
    2,137
    Likes Received:
    357
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    What should I be looking out for here? New to all this.


    Im using a Focusrite Scarlett Solo via USB.

    Signal Chain is:
    Guitar, Scarlett, Cubase, VST Amp
    Monitoring through Cubase via headphones connected to Scarlett.
     
  6. nickgray

    nickgray SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    467
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Read the manual, Scarletts have software that allows you to change the routing, I don't know the specifics, but all the info should be in the manual.
     
  7. BornToLooze

    BornToLooze SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    937
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Location:
    Baytown, TX
    I don't know if it would still do it with virtual amps, but my Les Paul has some fairly hot, unpotted PAF style pickups and they pick up stuff when I'm playing with a lot of gain. Do you have another guitar you can try to see if it still does it? The 2 types of pickups I've noticed it with are PAF style and JBs.
     
  8. Nik_Left_RG

    Nik_Left_RG SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Location:
    Bangalore IN
    I'd try setting the Audio Input Channel to Input 2 , not Input 1 or a combination of 1 + 2 .
     
  9. SteveFireland

    SteveFireland SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Location:
    Belfast
    I've had that happen, so I always reach over and turn off the click on any long held notes/chords that don't have drums - like at the end of the song... that's the only time it might be noticeable on the track.
     

Share This Page