Perfect Drums Template for Reaper

Discussion in 'Drums & Percussion' started by Grooven, Nov 19, 2019.

  1. Grooven

    Grooven SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Location:
    Hell
    I know alot of people uses Toontrack stuff but yeah I'm using PD and there isn't a specific detailed tutorial on the Tube so I tried doing it myself but keep getting hung up on something...
    So if there's anyone with PD and can help me out I'd appreciate it
     
  2. HANIAK

    HANIAK SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Oporto, PT
    I use PD too. Like it better than any other drum software out there.
    What do you need to know?
     
  3. MrWulf

    MrWulf SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    272
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Probably a way to route it out or perhaps a template that already routed for convenience's sake. I just purchased it too off of their BF sale so im interested in this topic too.
     
  4. Sogradde

    Sogradde SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    969
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    You have to assign each instrument/group in the PD mixer to an output. Once that's done, you can let Reaper create Tracks based on that. It's pretty simple and I can write a detailed description and create a template later today when I'm home.
     
    MrWulf likes this.
  5. HANIAK

    HANIAK SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Oporto, PT
    Yeap, it's fairly simple:
    When you open PD in Reaper it asks you to map 32 tracks (not sure if it's actually that much tracks; Most of the times I choose "No").
    If you choose "No" you'll have one stereo track that maps directly to all the pieces in the kit.
    Then, if you're like me and you're used to program on the Superior Drummer notes, PD also let's you map the midi notes to those of SD ("GLOBAL MAPPING" button).
    Currently I think I can't help any better, but I can try when I have some more time and PD in front of me :)
     
  6. MrWulf

    MrWulf SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    272
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    A template with every output routed out to the DAW would be great!
     
  7. Sogradde

    Sogradde SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    969
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    As I said, you first route all instruments you want to group to a single output in the PD mixer (first screenshot) and then you route them out in Reaper (second screenshot).
    The Dropbox link contains a template with the folowing groups: Kick, Snare, Toms, HiHat, Overheads, Room, Reverb.

    reaperpd1.png

    reaperpd2.png

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/4d27ao83hmhjzdw/Perfect Drums.RPP?dl=0
     
    Grooven and MrWulf like this.
  8. Grooven

    Grooven SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Location:
    Hell
    Late AF but thanks for the replies and help
     
  9. Grooven

    Grooven SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Location:
    Hell
    Thanks, hope I'm not askin for too much but could you make another template for some ambient spacey stuff recently got a Valhalla plugin and came up with an idea and want to do a small mix but the setup (fx bus,send) just to much for my adhd brain lol
     
  10. Sogradde

    Sogradde SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    969
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    What exactly do you plan on doing? Easiest way is to put the Valhalla Plugin on a parent track and adjust the wetness.
     
    Grooven likes this.
  11. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    1,974
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    Just make a new track, put the delay in the FX, and click (hold down) and drag the “Route”, from every track you’d like effected, to the Route of the new Valhalla track. You can then click on the Valhalla Route to adjust the send level from each track etc.
     
    Grooven likes this.

Share This Page