On a Quest for a Versatile Stoner/Doom Head

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Mr-Jemhead93, Sep 5, 2019.

1. Mr-Jemhead93

Mr-Jemhead93 I think I'm profound

So a friend and I are starting a Psychedlic/Stoner/Doom project. I normally play Death Metal and Hardcore so I am a complete noob when it comes to this style of music and the gear generally associated with it. I know Orange, Sunn, Ampeg and acoustic are all pretty popular brands in this genre. I currently use a Peavey 5150 into a H&K triamp 4x12 with Celestion Greenbacks. Its not quite getting that fuzz tone commonly heard with those styles nor is the clean channel clean enough for me to really get those spacey psychedelic parts. I'm getting plenty of dirt from my pedalboard (see below) so I'm trying to find something with a decent clean channel and gain that sounds more fuzzy. Any recommendations? I'm happy with my cab so really I'm just looking for a head and my budget is about $1k.

my pedal board is set up like this:
    Front:Guitar> Boss Tu3> Morely Bad Horsie wah> Ts9 od> Frost Giant Electronics Massif Fuzz> Walrus Iron Horse Distortion> Amp
    fx loop: Send> Fortin Zuul (with a patch cable from the bypass of the Tu3 into the Key input)> EQD Afterneath Reverb> Walrus Arp87 delay> Return

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

There's no real reason you can't get a good doom tone out of your existing gear. You'll just have to play around with effects and settings, which are probably the opposite of what you were going for before.