Noise Clamp = less tap dancing

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Sephael, May 31, 2012.

  1. Sephael

    Sephael Divine Paradøx Contributor

    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    141
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Ky
    I knew the NC had an internal switch, I had thought that it just made it a simple in-out unit. I was wrong and happy about it. Flipping the internal switch makes it so that turning the pedal off also disengages the loop. That means you can toss a couple pedals in its loop, even set its threshold to nil if you don't want to cut off delay echoes or whatever, and then single stomp all those effects on and off.

    So I'm a big advocate of the MXR noise clamp, it's cheap, simple and works like a beast, and does what none of the other noise suppressing pedals does.


    side note, thinking about how to use this feature made me realize I need side trak mod done to my tight metal so that I can run my head's pre amp in that loop and have single stomp switching with the TM bypassing the pre.
     
  2. Leuchty

    Leuchty Previously CYBERSYN

    Messages:
    6,690
    Likes Received:
    387
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    Agreed.

    For the price the NC is unbeatable.
     
  3. ridner

    ridner Bastard of Thousands

    Messages:
    3,172
    Likes Received:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    didn't know about the internal switch but I enjoy my clamp - best noise gate pedal IMO
     
  4. capoeiraesp

    capoeiraesp SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    781
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Seph you've just sold me on it. Thank you!
     
  5. Angus Clark

    Angus Clark SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    It's a great pedal isn't it? I haven't tried the ISP stuff, but compared to the NS-2, it sucks less tone and does a better job of cutting noise, I think. I'm yet to flick the internal switch as I thought it made it an in - out thing too. Cheers for the tip.
     
  6. Sephael

    Sephael Divine Paradøx Contributor

    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    141
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Ky
    Got thinking, since with the switch flipped it bypasses the loop you could probably even use it as an AB box. Will try to find time this weekend to give it a try both input select and output select.
     
  7. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    28,717
    Likes Received:
    13,914
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    ISP better be on the watch now. :lol:
     
  8. Sephael

    Sephael Divine Paradøx Contributor

    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    141
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Ky
    Okay it doesn't work as an AB box because it always feeds low levels of the input signal straight through to the output. Was worth a try though.
     

Share This Page