No question is a stupid question: How to drill neck holes?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by WhoThenNow7, Jan 22, 2015.

1. WhoThenNow7

WhoThenNow7 SS.org Regular

I just aquired a brand new Ibanez Komrad20 neck to put on my RG7321..

Not sure exactly how to drill the holes to put it on- I should clarify; I know how to drill holes, just not sure about what size drill-bit to use, or how to go about it- I've never done this before.

I googled around and while there's some good information, I gotta say I trust this forum more than anywhere else. I'd greatly appreciate anyone who could help me out!

blckrnblckt likes this.
  2. RV350ALSCYTHE

RV350ALSCYTHE SS.org Regular

There are plenty of ways to get this job done, depending on which tools you have access to.

The cheap/quick method is to hold the neck in the pocket (either by hand, or use light clamping with protection between jaws and guitar woods), while making sure it is seated nice against all surfaces and isn't crooked or leaning to the left/right.
    You can use a pencil/pen/sharp metal point to mark the location where to drill.
    Stick you marking tool through the holes in the neck pocket and make a point in the center of each hole.

Now you can remove the body and see exactly where you need to drill.
    Now mount/clamp the neck, fretboard down, with a towel/foam or some form of protection between the board and table surface, and between the neck wood and your clamping device.

I'm not sure which size drill bit to use, it will depend on the size of screws you are using. If you can't find a definitive answer, you can use a chunk of similarly dense wood and drill holes of every bit you think it might be and try screwing into each one until you find the one that isn't too tight or too loose.