No Desire to Drive

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by SenorDingDong, Jan 18, 2013.

1. SenorDingDong

SenorDingDong Smeller of Smells

I thought I'd get some of you guys' opinions on this since you're all such upstanding gentlemen.

I have no desire to drive.

I'm a month away from turning 21, I have my license, I'm a great driver (according to anyone whose car I've driven) and yet I just have no desire to buy a car or drive. I prefer walking, biking or taking the bus. I'm not afraid to get in an accident, though I can't say I'd ever like to try getting in one purposefully, but I just have no urge to own a vehicle.

Let me put this in perspective for you all--and please, don't take offense: I think fast sports cars and big huge monster cars are stupid. I think luxury cars are stupid.
    I think cars, in general, are stupid.
    I understand I am the minority in this opinion, and it definitely is an opinion--I by no means think car owners are stupid. I just don't really have an urge to own a car. I thought maybe I'd change, and I almost bought a car on a few occasions, but what it always came down to was that I was buying I car because I felt I had to in order to be normal.

Please keep the thread serious. I'm honestly curious whether or not anyone else feels the same, i.e. has no desire to own a vehicle.

Origin, ilyti, skeels and 2 others like this.
  2. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD SS.org Regular

[​IMG]

If I could get by without one, I would.

3. Estilo

Estilo SS.org Regular

But what is it about cars or owning them or using them that you find stupid?

4. Jakke

Jakke Pretty wisdomous

I don't own a car, and haven't driven one in 6 months, yet I do have licence. It's a great thing "to have", but it's not mandatory to drive, or even like cars just because you have licence.

5. Mexi

Mexi SS.org Regular