NGD: Ibanez reverse headstock content (pics + Gojira video)

Discussion in 'Standard Guitars' started by luciformheart, May 24, 2019.

1. luciformheart

luciformheart SS.org Regular

Hey all, I was looking for an inexpensive guitar with a fixed bridge to mess around in different tunings and to mod. I ended up getting an Ibanez RGRT421, it's quite a decent guitar for the price (~$430). This NGD is a little late because I wanted to include some kind of video recording. I took the pictures a few days ago with the guitar in the condition I received it in. I have since changed the strings and adjusted the setup and intonation.

Some of the frets need to be filed down, and there's still a bit of buzz that I can't seem to get rid of entirely. I have no experience with filing frets, so if anyone could give me some advice, I would be grateful.

The tuners were quite wiggly and loose when I changed the strings, they're the cheap Ibanez tuners with the washer and nut. Is it worth spending the money on locking tuners like Hipshots? I would have to install them myself, which I'm willing to do. I'm also thinking about upgrading the plastic nut to a graphite one.

The pickups seem okay, but I definitely want to upgrade them. I'm considering getting a set of Bare Knuckles, or a set of Duncans + tuners (which would cost a bit more put together). Any advice is appreciated!

Anyway, here are the pictures! :cheers:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

And here are some pictures of the higher frets that really need to be filed.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I've really grown to appreciate the jatoba fretboard, I think I prefer it to the cheap rosewood I've had on other guitars in this price range.

[​IMG]

And here's a video I recorded the other night, a Gojira cover - :hbang:

I'd appreciate advice about the tuners, nut, frets and pickups. Cheers!

2. BlackSG91

BlackSG91 Loves Black Guitars

That is a real sweet looking guitar and great choice of colour.:)

;>)/

luciformheart likes this.