Newbie Drum Software question

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Miek, May 18, 2019.

  1. Miek

    Miek POSTING ON INTERNET

    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, RI (AND I HAVE OPINIONS)
    I literally can't figure out how to open GGD in Reaper. I admit I may have had a few beers but I'm definitely not beyond logic. I can't figure it out and I'd really appreciate if someone could make it clear to me in a way that google just doesn't seem to.
     
  2. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    Isn’t GGD a Kontakt instrument?
     
  3. shnizzle

    shnizzle johnny

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    134
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    yeah, you need Kontakt from Native Instruments and load GGD in there.
     
  4. myrtorp

    myrtorp Jiggywiggy

    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    sweden
    I think u can use the free version of Kontakt. Im looking to get GGD Invasion soon!
     
  5. Miek

    Miek POSTING ON INTERNET

    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, RI (AND I HAVE OPINIONS)
    So I've got ggd loading and functioning no problem but they are clipping their inputs by default right now so I guess that's my next step to figure out.
     
  6. Miek

    Miek POSTING ON INTERNET

    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, RI (AND I HAVE OPINIONS)
    Ok so a week later and coming back not drunk I've figured out all of my routing woes, it was both more complex and more simple than I thought.

    However, I am still running into the clipping issue with the drums and I can't figure out why. I drop the dB in Kontakt and it clips but more quietly. Same when I do it from reaper. Any ideas what I'm missing?
     
  7. Miek

    Miek POSTING ON INTERNET

    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, RI (AND I HAVE OPINIONS)
    The clipping only seems to happen when I listen through my interface, and doesn't happen when i listen through my headphones direct into my pc. Any insight on how I can fix that straight out of the gate or is a google deep dive my best option?

    I'm not even sure how to phrase the issue to reach for it so if you at least have an idea for that I'm open to suggestion.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2019
  8. Flappydoodle

    Flappydoodle SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    831
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    I don't know Reaper, but I do use Kontact with GGD. Which inputs are clipping?

    So you load up a MIDI drum track, add Kontact as a stereo plugin (I don't use the 16 out) and open the GGD instrument. In Kontact I set output to "st. 1" and MIDI Ch to "omni"
     
  9. Miek

    Miek POSTING ON INTERNET

    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, RI (AND I HAVE OPINIONS)
    all of that is working fine, I think the clipping is somewhere in the interaction between reaper and my interface. possibly a driver issue?
     
  10. Sogradde

    Sogradde SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    891
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    What interface do you use?
     
  11. Flappydoodle

    Flappydoodle SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    831
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    I still don't understand what is clipping.

    On what monitor are you seeing level clipping happening?

    If it was a driver issue, then ALL audio from your interface would sound bad. It wouldn't be selective to one plugin.
     
  12. Miek

    Miek POSTING ON INTERNET

    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, RI (AND I HAVE OPINIONS)
    the clipping doesn't even occur in reaper, whis making me think it's a hardware issue with my Mackie onyx
     
  13. Miek

    Miek POSTING ON INTERNET

    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, RI (AND I HAVE OPINIONS)
    and now the clipping is gone apparently, but now ggd doesn't react when I click on a drum or try to play beats. I haven't changed anything since last time it worked so I am very confused now lol

    Edit: okay it seems I had changed my audio device away from ASIO which was causing that issue, now I need to figure out what's up with the clipping. It's ONLY in my headphones when I listen to playback through my Onyx's monitor jack. So it's most likely the interface. In conclusion I"m probably just a huge dumbass that's bad at problem solving.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  14. Sogradde

    Sogradde SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    891
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    Does your interface come with a dedicated software? I know that for example Focusrite Claretts come with a virtual mixer, which the Scarletts don't utilize. It sounds like your headphone out is either too loud or has a +X dB button engaged somewhere. Maybe it's an actual hardware button, have you checked that?
     
  15. Ed Fry

    Ed Fry Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Just to confirm this does not sound like a 'clipping' issue. This sounds more like a glitching audio issue.

    This can occur on all interfaces when the computer is not optimised for audio production, I'd advise speaking to Mackie regarding this. I very much doubt this is a hardware issue with your interface.

    Just to point out on the Focusrite software, all Claretts use Focusrite Control, the Scarletts do use this, but only the 2nd Gen 6i6 and above.

    Thanks,

    Ed F // Focusrite Technical Support
     
    Miek likes this.
  16. Sogradde

    Sogradde SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    891
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    I wasn't aware of that, thanks for clarification.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.