New to recording: In home setup and help

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by nanthil, Dec 17, 2019.

1. nanthil

nanthil SS.org Regular

I have never done any recording on my own before, and I'm looking for some advice. I am a guitarist, and have no experience with recording software, plugins, "reamping"?, drum programs (since I don't have a drummer), and anything else really. I'm looking for advice on how to accomplish my goals (listed below) with as little up-front investment as I can manage (time and $$).

There is a project I'm working on and I would like to best position myself to record as much as I can on my own, and that what I record is flexible enough to be tweaked later on. My initial thoughts from what I've picked up conversationally, online, youtube videos etc. is that it seems common to record raw direct input signal and then reamp the original dry signal later on in the process. With this limited understanding, I thought I would pick up a simple direct input interface and some software to record that, and hire someone to help me with the effects/mixing/arranging/drum tracking etc.

To that end, if this approach is advisable for a first foray into in-home recording, what is a good direct input interface (preferably usb-c or usb 3.0).

If this is approach is inadvisable, please let me know what approach can help me get started. I don't have space for real amps, mics, and the volume needed to record, so digital recording is preferable.

My goals:
    1. Practice and record sections for guitar and bass independently with little or no external support needed
    1.A. must be digital, something I can do from my desk with my laptop
    2. Take what I'm able to record on my own and work directly with someone more experienced to refine what I have
    3. Learn from this experience to engineer things on my own in the future (repeat if necessary)

What I think I need:
    1. A direct input interface for Windows 10 (usb-c/usb 3.0)