New Interface? DI Box? Or both

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by jruivo26, Jun 26, 2020.

1. jruivo26

jruivo26 SS.org Regular

Hi everyone

I've been using a Scarlett 2i2 (1st gen) for 6 years now, and I decided to upgrade my home studio. Bought a new dedicated pc and I'm planning to upgrade my audio interface as well.

The Scarlett clips very easily, and I'm still not satisfied with the tracking quality (recorded guitar sounds muffled, lifeless). My question is: should I get a DI like the Radial JD48? Should I invest on a better interface (like the 3rd gen Scarlett, but I'm personally looking at the Audient i14 or even better, the SSL 2)? Or should I get both?

Thanks!

2. Mike_R

Mike_R SS.org Regular

I can't speak to the instrument input quality on the Audient or SSL 2, but I bought a Clarett 4Pre (which I think is supposed to be an upgrade from the 3rd Gen Scarlett) and I can clip the instrument inputs pretty hard. I have a Countryman 85 and that gives me great signal quality with no clipping on the Clarett or my old MBox 3. You may need to play with gain staging between preamp and VST, but I get a better result out of the DI box than the instrument inputs of either interface. I've heard some of the instrument inputs on high end interfaces are indistinguishable from a DI box, but I don't know at what price point/which models that would kick in- I just know my Clarett wasn't adequate for that purpose (at least with hot bridge pickups- it can do neck pickups without clipping).