Need advice/help on my song..

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by vejichan, Oct 31, 2019.

1. vejichan

vejichan SS.org Regular

i need your help with my music. Working on something .. have been busy with work but jamming came up with something extremely basic in 20min.

Need help with
    - the overall mix,
    -guitar, sound
    -drum sound
    -bass tone and etc..
    - song writing

https://soundcloud.com/davidcho-1/believe

I am a beginner at all thjs.need help to improve this song...thanks

2. Drew

Drew Forum MVP

What are your objectives here? Is this going to be an instrumental? A vocal tune? Are you hoping to release something? Have a demo to attract bandmates? Just record for the fun of it?

Can't give you very detailed feedback on this since I'm at work with one earbud, but everything is basically fine. Drums sound like a preset and a stock loop with minimal processing and a lot of room sound, guitar sound is generic but essentially fine, some slight timing hesitations here and there but nothing awful, I was having trouble hearing the bass but that's probably my earbuds...

I'd say my biggest critique is this sounds more like an idea for a song than it does a song - you start out with a cool riff, play it a couple times then play another cool related riff, play it a couple times and then play another riff, etc. Figuring out how the song is supposed to fit together - if there are vocals, where they go and what the verse/chorus/bridge/prechorus/whatever parts of the songs are going to be, and then build an arrangement around that - is going to matter way more than the mix, imo.