NBD+NAD: My new rig

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by TheBloodstained, Jul 15, 2020.

1. TheBloodstained

TheBloodstained Casual music entusiast

So... my new rig! :)

The bass: Ibanez SR675-SKF
    The amp: Behringer UltraBass amp w/ Gallien-Krueger 8x10" cab

105370685_10160590242277837_5989856081248075115_o.jpg

The story:
    I started playing bass for a band in january (original music. Kind of melo/groove inspired metalcore). I've been focusing on guitar in terms of songwriting for the last 10+ years, but bass was always my primary instrument. I had a couple of basses kicking around - my Peavey C5 Tigerwood and my Ibanez SR886 - and I initially started out on the SR886 in the band, but I just felt like it would be easier for me to handle a proper 5 string when playing the stuff we write.

My very first bass was an Ibanez, so I've always felt at home on those instruments, so it was a no brainer to pick up one of these. Took me a while to get it properly adjusted, and I'm still dialing it in to my preferred setup, but it plays great and sounds amazing, so I'm pretty happy with this purchase :)

The amp was kind of a here-and-now sollution. When we started out there was another amp at the rehearsel space that I was playing through, but the owner removed it during the covid lockdown here in Denmark, and when the band started playing again recently we were left with a lackluster "DI through PA" solution, which totally killed the vibe for me and the other guys. A quick searched later I was able to pick up a very mint Behringer UltraBass amp and a used but pristine Gallien-Krueger cab REALLY CHEAP in my local area.

So yeah, this is my new rig - and my first bass amp despite having played bass for most of my life! It sounds killer, was pretty cheap and totally gives me "that vibe" when we play together.

Rock on out there! :hbang:

2. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent