NAD: Fractal FM3

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Musiscience, Nov 6, 2020.

  1. Musiscience

    Musiscience Hail the Ibbyborn!

    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    I'm going to make this as short as possible, because everyone has heard about these. It's basically an Axe Fx iii in floor format with less processing power. It's still very hard to reach that CPU limit unless you really try to specifically.

    It sounds absolutely terrific in all scenarios. The cab IRs are great and you have more than 2000 of them in the box. I use the device with cab sim bypassed in a 212 (v30) using a Mooer Baby Bomb. I did some AB with my Archon and the FM3 sounds and feels like a tube amp. No way someone would tell any difference blindfolded. The difference is that you can dial in a Bassman if you want to play some Chuck Berry, crank the power section of a plexi for some EVH or boost a recto or etc. instead of being limited to a few sounds. This can be overwhelming, but as long as you know what you are going for, it's very satisfying.

    The switching systen is well thought out. Long press for menu options or next page, quick press to select. Very usable live, but you might need an additional controller if you like more control over your effects. I do find that with the 8 scenes per preset you don't really need to switch the effects directly, you can just make a preset per song with a scene for intro, verse and etc that switches the state of all effects and parameters as needed.

    Quality is second to none, built like a tank.

    Edit: typos are my nemesis.

    20201106_065953.jpg
     
    Randy, MSS, odibrom and 14 others like this.
  2. SamSam

    SamSam GAS problems

    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    672
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Gibraltar
    Fucking love mine :yesway:
     
    oremus91, Deadpool_25 and Musiscience like this.
  3. budda

    budda Do not criticize as this Contributor

    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    9,074
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    Hell yeah.
     
    Musiscience likes this.
  4. Musiscience

    Musiscience Hail the Ibbyborn!

    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    It's great, isn't it? It's been for ever since my last modeler experience and I'm not disappointed!
     
  5. Spinedriver

    Spinedriver SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    645
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    NB,Canuckistan
    It's nice to live vicariously through others who can actually afford the cool stuff.. ;) Looking forward to some potential sound samples.
     
    Crundles, SloeGin and Musiscience like this.
  6. Dawn of the Shred

    Dawn of the Shred Chugs and Sweeps

    Messages:
    6,572
    Likes Received:
    1,534
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Congrats man
     
    Musiscience likes this.
  7. Emperoff

    Emperoff Not using 5150s Contributor

    Messages:
    4,605
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    Spain
    This thread is brought to you by @budda
     
  8. Avedas

    Avedas SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I got my FM3 a couple weeks ago and it's amazing. Haven't really played around with the switching yet though so I guess we'll see how that goes once I start heading out to the studio again.

    FM3 Edit sucks though. The UI design is fine — I don't have a problem with that. However, I don't know how they implemented the communication protocol over USB, but it is so laggy and unresponsive at times, and inconsistently so. Sometimes it's snappy and other times it's not. My computer is pretty beefy so that's not an issue. Especially compared side by side to the Helix editor, it's a bit of an embarrassment. When it works it's awesome though.
     
    Musiscience likes this.
  9. Musiscience

    Musiscience Hail the Ibbyborn!

    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    I know that the other fractal products have the same issue when plugged to Axe edit. For my part, as long as the switching on the unit itself works fine, I'm not too bothered by this. Let's see if it gets a fix anytime soon with a firmware update.
     
  10. Deadpool_25

    Deadpool_25 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,136
    Likes Received:
    2,377
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Congrats! I love my FM3. It’s excellent however I run it. If I run it into an amp FX return it absolutely feels like I’m just playing through a regular amp’s pre/power amp sections. And it’s awesome just through my monitors as well.
     
    Musiscience likes this.
  11. laxu

    laxu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,359
    Likes Received:
    1,504
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Location:
    Finland
    That's disappointing. I never had any major issues with the Axe-Edit communication on my Axe-Fx Standard or 2 but my understanding is that they've overhauled how it works for the Axe-Fx 3/FM3. I'd try a different port, e.g. USB 2 port instead of USB 3 and see if it makes any difference. Avoid USB hubs if possible.
     
  12. Spicypickles

    Spicypickles Sweeps & Mops

    Messages:
    2,732
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I also picked one of these up (because of budda, bastard). Fantastic unit and I’ve basically just ran through the presets
     
    The SG King and Musiscience like this.
  13. Mathemagician

    Mathemagician SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4,401
    Likes Received:
    3,897
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Thanks for the quick and simple review. Very helpful if I end up not liking the QC, as this was my top choice until the delays began.
     
    Musiscience likes this.
  14. budda

    budda Do not criticize as this Contributor

    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    9,074
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    :flex: its just a great piece of gear. Had my tour rig turned into an fm3 and powerstage 700 (or two pedalbabies) i would have been ok with it.
     
  15. NeubyWanKaneuby

    NeubyWanKaneuby SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I just got my invite today. I need to get it ordered.
     
    Deadpool_25, budda and Musiscience like this.
  16. Musiscience

    Musiscience Hail the Ibbyborn!

    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Do it! You won't regret it. It's been said often, but the reverbs alone are worth the price.
     
  17. Avedas

    Avedas SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Yeah, I don't see why USB 3 would have any issues as it's fully backwards compatible but I don't have any USB 2 ports anyway. Using different ports or moving it off the hub didn't make any difference, which I didn't expect it would anyway.
     
  18. Elric

    Elric SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    317
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    This is straight up not true. Long time Fractal user. IMHO. Must be FM edit specific that unit has had some growing pains.
     
  19. Musiscience

    Musiscience Hail the Ibbyborn!

    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Well, it might be worse in the FM3, but there was always delays while editing using Axe Edit with the Axe FX II I had. Nothing I that ever bothered me anyway. Anyway, I surely don't appreciate the lying accusations.
     
  20. Deadpool_25

    Deadpool_25 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,136
    Likes Received:
    2,377
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Since my AFX 2 XL+, I’ve noticed some lag when switching presets and such while the unit is connected to Axe Edit. Not sure you guys are talking about the same thing though.
     

Share This Page