My uni course get disbanded

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Vinchester, May 21, 2011.

1. Vinchester

Vinchester SS.org Regular

I'm not sure if it's appropriate to post personal stuff like this here. I am admittedly not around SS much so I'm sorry if I seem to just barge in and throw up all this shit, but I need to let it out :( Please hear me out.

I am a Thai student, 24, who came to the UK last year to study. My plan is to graduate in 3 years, then go back to Thailand and work.

My course, BA Interior Architecture at Cardiff School of Art & Design, is a small course (total 90 students) run by 4 veteran tutors with almost 100 years worth of combined teaching experience. Although it is the first of its kind in the UK, is famous and successful, the University of Wales Institute, Cardiff , which the art school belongs to, decided that it wants to downsize, and our small course is going to be phased out. This was singlehandedly decided by the upper management without ANY consultation with the affected party as is required by guidelines.

After six longs months of fierce bureaucratic fights, complains, and incompetency on the part of the university, the Interior Architecture course I have been studying since September 2010 has now been gutted of its teaching staff.