My Custom DiMarzios Arrived!

Webmaestro

Ibanez Fanatic
Reaction score
A little backstory first:

I've been nagging DiMarzio for a couple years now... asking if they'll make me a one-off set of 7-string DiMarzios with the chrome tops. More specifically, I wanted chrome tops on an Illuminator 7 bridge and Ionizer 7 neck.

They've always written back to me saying, flatly, "no."

They just don't offer any of their 7-string pups with the chrome tops, except for very special cases (ex: artists, Ibanez LACS, and the Ibanez UV77-SVR). The rest of us are out of luck. Same goes for gold-topped 7-string DiMarzios. They just don't make them in 7's, and I have no idea why.

This year I got to go to NAMM for the first time, and I figured I'd take the opportunity to bug DiMarzio about this again, but this time face-to-face at their booth. To my utter astonishment, they didn't even hesitate and said "sure, we'll do custom chrome tops for you. Come sit down over here and we'll take your info."

Yesterday, these babies arrived...

40503190982_4e1dd1392e_o.jpg

I can't wait to put them in my RGD3127, which is white and already has chrome hardware. More chrome!

It's interesting: When I was just some faceless customer sending emails, they said no. But I walk into their booth at NAMM and suddenly I'm somebody. I guess that's what they call "the NAMM effect." \m/

Last edited:

TheWarAgainstTime

"TWAT" for short
Reaction score
Very cool! I never realized they didn't do the chrome or gold bobbins in 7 strings, but hopefully they'll be more open to making it a regular option, like they eventually did with 7 string covered pickups.

Can't wait to see them in your guitar!

KnightBrolaire

mass cultivator
Reaction score
You have more patience than i do. i'd prob have spraypainted some pickups chrome rather than wait for dimarzio to make em for me

Hollowway

Extended Ranger
Reaction score
Oh man, those are going to look amazing in that guitar! Great choice!

Lemonbaby

SS.org Regular