Lookin for the 5150 of bass amps?

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by Gmork, Jan 24, 2020.

1. Gmork

Gmork SS.org Regular

Lookin for a bass equivalent of the 5150, NOT in tone but more like, what is the classic affordable, reliable GO TO bass amp?
    Something cheap ($500-$700ish), high powered for metal and super tough and reliable.
    Im mainly a guitarist and am pretty clueless when it comes to bass gear but would like a decent bass amp for the times i dust off my old 6 string bass.

Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  2. bostjan

bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

You could just use a 5150...

Emperoff likes this.
  3. Gmork

Gmork SS.org Regular

But... Im looking for a bass amp.
    I dont mean to say im looking for a bass amp that SOUNDS like a 5150, Im just asking what the go to amp is in the bass world?

Rotatous likes this.
  4. budda

budda Do not criticize as this Contributor

SVT3? GK MB500? GK RB800?

5. DudeManBrother

DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

The Ampeg SVT is the one, but they’re not cheap. I have seen a lot of Gallien Kreuger and Trace Elliot stuff at shows, but I’d say that mass majority run a Tech 21 Sansamp or Darkglass pedal as their main tone shaper.

AndiKravljaca and budda like this.
  6. bostjan

Lots of bass players use a 5150, though.

There really isn't an equivalent, in terms of popularity in metal.

Bass gear is super cheap and there is a lot less variety in terms of options. That Ampeg SVT Classic all tube bass head that weighs 100 pounds (yes the head weighs as much as a guitar cab) and costs 4x as much as a 5150 is really nice, but, IMO, also unnecessary, for heavy music at least.

For a while SWR was the goto amp and cab for metal, but they are long gone.

You can get a whole Behringer rig for under your budget, and it'll do pretty much what you need for metal.

Are you using distortion or playing cleanish? Is this for playing on the road in a band? If so, what is the guitarist using?