Locking nut on RG7321?

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by AvengedESP, Jul 21, 2011.

1. AvengedESP

AvengedESP Well-Known Member

Basically, is it possible to (relatively easily) install a locking nut on my 7321? If not I will have to go with locking tuners which are a lot more expensive, and don't look as cool (that's what it's all about, right?). I only got it the other day as my first 7 string and I love it, but I hate having to retune the damn thing every 5 minutes...

I can install a standard nut, but I've never done a locking one before and there doesn't seem to be enough space looking at my ESP's Floyd system :scratch:

Anyway, these are what I was thinking about:

7 STRING FLOYD ROSE LOCKING NUT GOLD/BLACK/CHROME | eBay

EDIT: Try this link - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=390148373043#ht_4853wt_1139

EDIT: Okay link isn't working, but you get the idea.

Thanks guys :)

2. Elysian

Elysian Banned

7321 doesn't have an tunable bridge so it's a waste of time. Go locking tuners.

mod edit: you've been told before, stop trying to sell things outside the classifieds / dealers section... if you can't resist take it to PM

3. AvengedESP

I know it doesn't have fine tuners but I just wanted something to lock it in place... I suppose breaking out the alan keys every time you want to change isn't great anyway :(

I'd love to take you up on that offer but I've just spent £160 on a set of BKPs as well as buying the guitar itself, I'm all spent this month (the locking nut was £8 delivered so that's not so bad), I'll keep it in mind for next payday though ^^

4. Elysian

Elysian Banned

The problem with a locking nut without an adjustable bridge is that the strings go sharp as soon as you lock the nut.

5. technomancer

technomancer Gearus Pimptasticus Super Moderator