Line 6 POD HD Thread

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Variant, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. Spaced Out Ace

    Spaced Out Ace 0 0 1 0 0 6 5 0 3\

    Messages:
    7,178
    Likes Received:
    3,455
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Washington
  2. eastguitar

    eastguitar SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Quilpué, Chile
    Hi friends!!

    This is a new video of Elements using Line6 POD HD Pro and POD HD500.



    Thanks!!
     
  3. daedae

    daedae SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Except that it's not just a couple of X3 models. There are some X3 models, that they ported directly because people wanted them, but there are also legitimately new HD models (the 5150, shiva, and the new JCM800 in the metal pack for instance).

    I can understand both sides of the discussion on whether the packs should be paid. On the one hand, Fractal seems to have set the bar high by regularly releasing free updates with more models, while L6 only added a couple for free earlier in the HD series' lifetime I guess. Not sure if the Kemper is really a good comparison (which somebody else made) because of the ability to do 3rd party models that can be either paid or free. On the other hand, unless L6 had promised free and continuous lifetime updates for the HD series, it's a fair statement to say you bought (or should have bought) the HD based on it being a fair price for what it could do for you when you bought it, not based on what you expected to get in the future.

    I'm on the fence about getting the packs...I don't play out and so my POD basically collects dust between sporadic jam sessions, because it's much easier for me to just record DIs and use VST amps. (Meanwhile, with my gear lust I would rather get an Axe FX just to say I have one...:lol:)
     
  4. RustInPeace

    RustInPeace SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    161
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Couple days in and im really digging this unit. I havent spent too much time sculpting a good high gain tone, as I've been trying to dial it in to use with my 5153, but it sounds much better overall then the last pod I had some years ago.

    Alice, do you have any patches you would care to share? I'd like to see how you set them up.
     
  5. ZeroS1gnol

    ZeroS1gnol SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    115
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You sure about the 5150 model being new? That was already on the X3, so I guess that's also ported.
     
  6. Stachu

    Stachu Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Location:
    Brasowe
    Brand new, fo sho!
     
  7. prozak

    prozak Pathfinder

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Location:
    Graz, Austria
    Selling new amp models without their dedicated cab sims is so wrong and silly!
     
  8. Spaced Out Ace

    Spaced Out Ace 0 0 1 0 0 6 5 0 3\

    Messages:
    7,178
    Likes Received:
    3,455
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Washington
    Cue Line 6 going "But we thought everyone used cab IR's..."
     
  9. prozak

    prozak Pathfinder

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Location:
    Graz, Austria
    Wouldn't be surprised at all. :nuts:
     
  10. Ericjutsu

    Ericjutsu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Willimantic, CT
    no apparently they think no ones uses IRs. I remember reading a thread on the line6 forum about adding an IR loader in the HD series and that's basically what they said.... Would make the Pods sooo much better if they did that though.
     
  11. lewis

    lewis SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    7,568
    Likes Received:
    3,893
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    it would more than double there usefulness imo. The day I bought my Pod HD Pro was the day I started using 3rd Party IRs. I was never going to rely on the shockingly bog standard Line 6 cabs. Unreal that Free IRs are better than Line 6s
     
  12. Ericjutsu

    Ericjutsu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Willimantic, CT
    I was hoping for a new cab or a redone mesa cab in the new model packs. Even if their new amp models are good, the cabs are so bad it won't matter.
     
  13. RustInPeace

    RustInPeace SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    161
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    So im pretty disappointed with the tone suck running 4cm on my 5153. I mean it sounds pretty decent... but definitely gets a blanket over the amp effect.. I DONT LIKE THIS. I have tried messing with adding EQ's in and trying to find the highs it sucks out..

    Man I might be taking this thing back :(
     
  14. op1e

    op1e Spirit Taker

    Messages:
    2,906
    Likes Received:
    496
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    Northeast Ohio
    ^ You sir might be better served with an 1101 :)

    Transparent as a G Major
    Dozen or so OD/Dist
    HAS an 800/5150
    Or just get it as an IR Loader and rack mount overdrive for your POD.

    I took my HD500 back after 20 days. I like to use real amps live and it was always better straight into a power section or ss power amp. Maybe keep it as a secondary rig when ya just wanna show up with a rack and a cab.
     
  15. Electric Wizard

    Electric Wizard guy incognito

    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    398
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago
    No kidding. I know that people can sound great with the stock cabs, but it takes so much EQing that I lack the knowledge or patience for. I just tried out using IRs last week, and all that effort is basically done for me. No hours of tweaking or 4 EQ blocks to sound decent.

    I was reading a debate about this same topic the other day on TGP and one person brought up the idea that maybe loading third party IRs is just not possible for some reason with the Pod's software. It could be that there's an actual limitation like that, which L6 doesn't want to be open about because it reveals something about how their modeling works.

    I hope that it's actually something like that because otherwise it's pretty shitty to pretend that nobody wants IR loading. I'm betting that "nobody asking for it" comes down to many people not knowing what it is. I certainly didn't know enough to ask for the cab DEPs, but when they came out I experimented and was glad they did. I bet IRs would be the same.
     
  16. InCasinoOut

    InCasinoOut syncopAZN

    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    485
    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    So I just started using cab IRs for the first time since I picked up a Scarlett 2i4, and the difference in tone is amazing! Anybody have any specific amp and cab combinations you're liking? Right now my favorite is the ENGL through Catharsis s-preshigh. Ballsy, and soooo much easier to get a usable tone.
     
  17. Spaced Out Ace

    Spaced Out Ace 0 0 1 0 0 6 5 0 3\

    Messages:
    7,178
    Likes Received:
    3,455
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Washington
    s-preshigh is a pretty good starting point.
     
  18. prozak

    prozak Pathfinder

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Location:
    Graz, Austria
    Stock cabs are not that bad, yes you need to do some pre or post eq-ing to even out your sound. Also, dual cabing is a great thing, unfortunately only 4 of them work for me (hiwatt, engl, tread, uber). Finding the right spot between them is crucial, and takes some time. I don't want any 3rd party software outside the POD. Tweak, tweak and forget about Ola's or someone's else custom IRs, they even sound shitty to me. Take your time and make some sick dual cab tones, there are already tons of them out there. You guys are just way too picky nowadays ffs....
     
  19. Axe Cop

    Axe Cop SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Location:
    Moon
    Maybe you guys can help me make a decision. I'm looking for a new modeler and unfortunately I live too far away from a big city + new baby so I can't get out.

    I don't djent and mostly play standard/eb/drop db. I play a lot of thrashish type metal and stuff like the haunted and Alice in chains.

    Im trying to decide if I should try a pod HD bean if I can find one or an eleven rack. I don't use many effects outside of boost/delay/verb/chorus.
     
  20. Alice AKW

    Alice AKW Wolf Ninja

    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    243
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Location:
    Trinidad, CO
    You can get great rock tones with the POD HD, though I'm finding it takes a producer's ear to draw the best out of it.
     

Share This Page