Line 6 POD HD Thread

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Variant, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. Alice AKW

    Alice AKW Wolf Ninja

    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Location:
    Trinidad, CO
    Philz, some screens of that patch setup would be amazing. Sounds great!
     
  2. Alice AKW

    Alice AKW Wolf Ninja

    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Location:
    Trinidad, CO
    And while I"m at it, here's a sample of my forthcoming album. guitars all Pod

    [sc]https://soundcloud.com/kane-wolf/album-sneak-peek[/sc]
     
  3. philz

    philz Active Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    Sounds sweet! :hbang: Very organic!

    Will post pictures of my patch shortly! :)
     
  4. philz

    philz Active Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    [​IMG]


    As you may have noticed, I have 2 distortion pedals in the FX chain :cool: . This is what makes the sound so twangy and crisp! I used to use two Screamers, but then I discovered the Classic Distortion pedal, which gave a lot more "twang" to the sound, which is something I love. If you want more or less twang, you can simply adjust the treble knob on the Classic Dist pedal :)

    [​IMG]


    The recrifier in this patch is just set up as a "Boost", to boost the bottom end and color the lowmids which works great with the XXL cab. The F-ball on the other hand, does not sound that great with the XXL cab in my opinion, which is why I chose the ubercab. The ubercab has a lot more mids and therefore fits perfect with the F-ball to create a nice chunky mid-oriented tone!
    Enjoy :hbang:
     
  5. ilovefinnish

    ilovefinnish SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    66
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    Calexico, CA


    I wanna hear that saul goodman and heuel patches :lol:
     
  6. philz

    philz Active Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    Hahah! They're just two of my basstones :p
     
  7. prozak

    prozak Pathfinder

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Location:
    Graz, Austria
    @philz - we don't have those input 1/input 2 combinatios on HD500's, how do you pan the paths in the main mix?
     
  8. philz

    philz Active Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    Both amps are dead center on the patch, with the F-ball being 1db above the Recti :)
     
    prozak likes this.
  9. Deadnightshade

    Deadnightshade U gonna eat that?

    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Athens
    I was thinking that you can't get that short of compressed and nicely saturated higher mids due to the lack of multiband compressor or compressor with adjustable attack, release etc.

    The Epic model seems to do that, because it compresses the shit out of them from 50% and above.

    Ditching compressors altogether in a patch and dipping the amp and cab DEPs seems to alleviate the problem, but indeed string definition and clarity in the top end is elusive.

    A couple of questions:
    1)What cab DEPs are you using?
    2) Typically the order of noise gates is from looser to tighter. You use though 2 in a row just before the amp. Which is which and why do you use them?


    Personally I use the desktop version so I lack the input pad switch. I tried to use a studio EQ with gain dipped at -18 db in the beginning of the chain, but the gain staiging of the patch seems off to me. Too much noise that can only be dealt with the regular noise gates. I haven't tweaked them enough to get it completely tight yet.

    That twang you say that the classic distortion has, comes from 2 factors:
    1) The filter simultaneously scooping and making the tone brightier (meambobbo says so and I agree)
    2) Thre treble knob boosting around the 2.2 khz area

    I believe you can get a similar result by just having a pre EQ boosting around 2.2 khz, or using a q filter to fine-tune the twang and mix it a bit more effectively that being forced to have the classic distortion output high.
     
  10. philz

    philz Active Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    1. Probably a noob question, but what is "cab DEPs"? :eek:
    2. I don't follow any recipe on how to dial in anything, I just dial stuff to what works for me, so the reason behind having 2 noisgates at the same level, is because I'd rather have 3 noisegates on 50 than to have one on 30, one on 50, and one on 70. The more you go pst 50 the more the noisgates tend to "take away" from the sound in my experience. Though, the main reason for having 3 noise gates, is that my guitar makes some unwanted noise that can only be dealt with by noise gates.

    Hmmm, I'm not using the pad switch either, so it's weird that you're getting more noise than I am.

    You're right about the 2,2khz boost for more twang thingie. But I'd rather have the dist pedal to boost it for me, than to boost it with an EQ. I don't like boosting stuff too much with EQs :p
     
  11. mungiisi

    mungiisi SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    I'm trying to make a decision between POD HD or an audio interface and plug-ins, I posted this very same question to a thread below regarding purchasing an HD. Maybe some of you could help me out:

    Is it possible to bypass the dry signal in POD HD and still use plugins on computer? I have Pod XT Live and even if I bypass all the amps, cabs and effects I can still hear the dry signal of guitar if I have plugged my phones to the Pod. I can skip the dry signal by using the computers output but then I have more latency than with the Pod.
     
  12. Deadnightshade

    Deadnightshade U gonna eat that?

    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Athens

    1) Cab Deep Editing Parameters. You had all the Amp Deep Editing Parameters (apart from the master) all the way down, but you didn't mention the cab DEPs. Maybe the "deep" confused you because it's not mentioned in the hd edit but that's what they are :lol:

    2) I generally avoid the regular noise gate because they suck away tone. However, because of that I fell like they can also take away some of the noise within the signal that hard gates can't. I'll look further into utilizing 2 of them in a row.

    Yes, but you can't use a dual amp in that case, as you get only 2 mono outputs that end up in your DAW.
     
  13. philz

    philz Active Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    Aaaah! That's what I initially thought it was :p

    Recti:
    Low Cut: 20hz (I usually ut it to around 90-100hz when I record, but I like to have some bass when I jam, so 20hz lowcut for jamsessions :) )
    Res lvl: 50%
    Thump: 100%
    Decay: 0%

    F-Ball:
    Low Cut: Same as the recti.
    Res lvl: 51%
    Thump 100%
    Decay: 0%
     
  14. mungiisi

    mungiisi SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Isn't the dual amp only POD's own amp simulation setting? Because if I'm using software/plug-in amp I wouldn't use any of the POD's amps, cabs or effects. I just want to be able to bypass the dry signal but still hear the signal via plug-ins from the POD.
     
  15. philz

    philz Active Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    Not sure if I understand what you are looking for correctly but, If you want the clean signal through the pod into your DAW, you can do that yes (Dry signal is the clean signal, wet is the signal with amps/effects).
     
  16. J-RAMONES

    J-RAMONES SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Location:
    pluto
    hi, i'm new here and pretty bad with technology.
    can you tell me if i can connect my pod hd pro x to the ("studio")speakers with xlr (Twin XLR Sockets to 2 x RCA Phono Plugs Audio Cable) or do i have to use the unbalanced outputs of the podx.thanks
     
  17. mungiisi

    mungiisi SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Yes exactly, but what I'm looking for is that I could mute the dry signal so that I don't hear it from my headphones/loudspeakers. Now if I play through my PodXT Live to my DAW I can hear both the plug-in and the dry signal from my Pod.

    I'm sorry if I'm not clear enough, English is not my mothertongue.
     
  18. Deadnightshade

    Deadnightshade U gonna eat that?

    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Athens
    The HD series is stupidly limited in terms of outputs. No, you can't mute the dry signal unfortunately.

    They best way to do it is to create a signal chain with a pod amp patch along with the dry signal. You can use it just to track, or record it too.

    To give you a visual, here is a picture of a patch from a member here that can give both dry signal and pod amp simulation:

    http://i61.tinypic.com/98yt08.jpg

    If you want to record 2 mono outputs, one that's pod sound and one that's dry in order to apply a plugin amp simulation you'll have to hard pan path A to the one side and the path B to the other side.

    In that case, the upper signal chain is the Output 1 that your DAW receives. It's gonna be 100% pod sound, as long as you hard pan ( for example 100% Left ). It's a bit annoying for tracking, but that's the only way to both record (or hear) a pod sound and a dry signal.

    The lower signal chain as you can see is completely empty. That's the signal that you're going to use for plugin amp simulations. Let's say that you hard pan it to 100% Right.

    Unfortunately, you can't mute the lower signal chain so you'll always hear a clean direct guitar playing.
     
  19. ZeroSignal

    ZeroSignal Appreciates Kwolity Contributor

    Messages:
    9,107
    Likes Received:
    571
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    How do you guys deal with clipping? I get loads of digital clipping with my POD HD500. The inputs are set to the recommended guitar/variax setting, and there's no discernible input clipping (empty patch with instrument playing through it), so it must be coming from somewhere in my various patches (clean and distorted with various amps and effects). I've copied ChimpSpanner's video on tone building but I still get clipping. It's an absolute nightmare to dial out and I'm wondering if you guys have some specific method to deal with it.
     
  20. TheStig1214

    TheStig1214 Mr. Tophat Jones

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    147
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Location:
    Lawn Guyland
    Anyone have an issue with the expression pedal on the HD500 not going all the way to 0%? On all my wah and volume readouts the lowest it goes is 3% cocked all the way back.
     

Share This Page