Line 6 HX Stomp for home recording?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by scratchNdentPrestige, Dec 30, 2018.

1. scratchNdentPrestige

scratchNdentPrestige SS.org Regular

I am working on recording some stuff at home for my own amusement. I am using Reaper as a DAW and for the time being a Zoom R24 as an interface. The Line 6 HX Stomp looks like something I could use at home as sort of a budget Helix for recording/practice, and at the same time take to band practices to use through a PA or powered PA amp, or even a spare bass amp. Anyone use one of these for home recording?

2. RobertVII

RobertVII SS.org Regular

I haven't tried out the stomp yet but I have the Helix Rack unit and I'm a big fan of it. The biggest difference between the stomp and the other models is the stomp only has one Sharc DSP chip while the other helix models have two. This limits tone shaping only slightly. I've been using the rack unit for close to 2 years now and I barely use the second DSP chip. The only time I do is when I make ambient clean patches and have a crazy amount of effects on it. Getting back to the stomp I believe has all the ins and outs you would need to record and practice with. I recommend using some third party IR's with the stomp if you purchase it. I personally use the ones from OwnHammer and it made a huge difference in tone for me. Hope this helps!

scratchNdentPrestige likes this.
  3. Asdef

Asdef SS.org Regular

Hi. I downgraded from Kemper to HX Stomp. I’m very happy with it. If you know how to cook your sound - it is a great piece of gear. First impression was a bit bad - helix family sounds a bit upper mid/high in terms of the sound. But It is capable to sound good.

4. GunpointMetal

GunpointMetal SS.org Regular