Is my Laney gone for good? (Sob story inside)

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by ke7mix, Mar 31, 2015.

  1. ke7mix

    ke7mix SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle, Wa
    My seattle based band just opened for Marmozets, a British based band with british made amps and power supplies. The English band brought their own power strips rated for 200+ volts where in the US it's much less. My singer trying to be helpful plugs my amp into the British power strip and flips the power. The amp stayed on for about 45 seconds then just lost power. I checked the fuse and it was fine. The amp will no longer turn on. Thankfully I was able to borrow another locals Vox Combo to finish out the show.

    What could be the problem? Is my amp just FUBAR?
     
  2. HUGH JAYNUS

    HUGH JAYNUS I’m a grown ass man

    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    217
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location:
    SLC, UTAH
    Thatz a possibility. Its also possible its just dead due to another issue. I bought a brand new Ironheart studio and it had some defects so I returned it. They just seem to not be made well in general
     
  3. ke7mix

    ke7mix SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle, Wa
    I doubt that its inability to turn on is from anything other than what happened at the show. I've had my Ironheart for a few years with no problems.
     
  4. skeels

    skeels ..to pay the beels

    Messages:
    4,137
    Likes Received:
    719
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Location:
    milwaukee,WI
    Fried output transformer?
     
  5. bostjan

    bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

    Messages:
    15,530
    Likes Received:
    3,789
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    St. Johnsbury, VT USA
    Were the strips putting 220 VAC out? If they were outputting 120, then whatever happened to your amp shouldn't have anything to do with over-voltage. However, if the strips were putting 220 out, there could be any of a number of problems. If the power supply in the amp burnt out, you might be able to replace it and be back in business.
     
  6. dissolution96

    dissolution96 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    A few years? :p
    Either way, .....
     
  7. FifthCircleSquared

    FifthCircleSquared Threadender

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Location:
    Maine
    You'd think 220 volts into something designed for half that would blow the H.T. fuse or another fuse before the transformers got seriously damaged.

    Either way, best bet is to take it to a repair center. Fuses are easy enough to check, but they can be a bitch to get back in properly, depending on the design.
     
  8. bostjan

    bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

    Messages:
    15,530
    Likes Received:
    3,789
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    St. Johnsbury, VT USA
    I've never tried over voltage on tube components to see what would happen, but overvoltage can be hell on a transformer. If the fuses, rated in amps, somehow let enough current through at a higher voltage, I could understand why they wouldn't break the circuit in time.
     
  9. Shask

    Shask SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4,669
    Likes Received:
    1,413
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Best case, it blew the fuse. Easy cheap fix. Worst case, it blew the power transformer. Around $100+labor.
     
  10. ke7mix

    ke7mix SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle, Wa
    It wasn't a fuse, that was the first thing I checked.
     
  11. viesczy

    viesczy SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    On the fretboard!
    Did you inspect it or replace it?

    When my VH100 blew its fuse I first thought it was one of my 6L6s (as I knew 1 was going) and I dropped a set of EL34s in quick. Still no sound. A quick visual inspection of the fuse wasn't sufficient, it was only until after I replaced the fuse that my VH100 came back to life.

    Good luck!

    Derek
     
  12. TheStig1214

    TheStig1214 Mr. Tophat Jones

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    147
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Location:
    Lawn Guyland
    Are there any internal fuses on the Ironheart series? I forget...
     
  13. mr coffee

    mr coffee SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Location:
    Houston
    Not familiar with this particular amp, but I've seen amps that had fuses on the boards inside the amp in addition to the usual main fuse accessible from the back panel.

    -m
     
  14. neotronic

    neotronic SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    i'd expect heaters in all the tubes and quite possibly all power supply caps to be dead and than some minor components here and there... The transformers might be ok though, as they usually have quite good insulation and should be protected against high current by fuses.

    Decent tech should be able to repair it...
     
  15. ihunda

    ihunda SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    409
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Did the british band bring with them a big ass 220v transformer?
    Just plugging into an european power strip plugged into a standard 110V US outlet doesn't magically increase voltage.
    So unless there was a voltage transformer involved, the issue is not coming from plugging into that power strip.
     
  16. 155

    155 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    ct
    how the hell would they have had 220v at the stage anyway thats not common?? maybe a tube..you were in the usa right?
     
  17. glpg80

    glpg80 √εvil

    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    117
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    MD
    You will need to see whether the PT is outputting un-regulated 450VAC on the secondary as it is intended by taking it to a technician. If the PT outputs no voltage when isolated from the amplifier, your transformer has a shorted primary winding and is therefore scrap.
     
  18. TRENCHLORD

    TRENCHLORD Banned

    Messages:
    6,506
    Likes Received:
    244
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Location:
    corncountry IL
    VOID; already said ^ above (take to good tech:lol:)
     
  19. Count_ChoClitorus

    Count_ChoClitorus SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Same thing happened with my Line 6. Bought it in the US and brought it into South Africa. In my stupid excitement, I forgot that there was a difference in the power output and ended up frying the transformer. Most likely the same thing that happened with yours?
     
  20. loktide

    loktide dotlike Contributor

    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    You might have blown the PT. Check the secondaries of the PT with a multimeter with the amp in standby / powered on. In case you dont feel confident with this, take it to a tech.

    A new PT will run about 100-150$. Replacing it should be a 1-2 h job.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.