Interested in purchasing a bass, need help?

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by vkw619, Dec 29, 2014.

1. vkw619

vkw619 Inspired Beginner

Hey guys,

I have recently really wanted to get into bass. But I literally have NO idea where to start. I know absolutely nothing about basses, bass amps, strings, scales, anything hardwear wise at all. So I was hoping some of the wonderful people here could help out.

Basically, good starting/mid level bass suggestions?
    Amps suggestions (something small, bedroom level, something I could hook my HD500x into)
    Benefits of starting off on a 5 string as opposed to 4?

My favorite guitar brand is Ibanez due to necks mainly because I have quite small hands so if anyone could provide a good suggestion based on that, that'd be wonderful.

I know a ton about guitar hardware but again, not a single thing in the bass area. So treat me like a total noob if you will xD.

Thanks all:wavey:

2. FretSpider

FretSpider Well-Known Member

Well, with your affinity to Ibanez in mind, I'd look at either an SR 400 or 500 series bass, though you MAY want to take a good look at ESP, as well. In my experience, their necks are pretty close, dimension-wise, and I think that ESP's are ounce for once better than most Ibanez's beginner to intermediate lines of instruments. That's not to say I dislike Ibanez, because I don't. They're one of my brands of choice, and I'm dying to get my hands on an Ibanez BTB 1406E. ESP just seems to offer a "better bang for the buck". Some ESP's to check out would be (keeping a 5-string in mind) a B/F-5E, B-206SM, D-5NS. I wouldn't hesitate to play on any of those instruments.